Hall of Fame Weekend Approaching

Aug. 22, 2006

Composite Photo of Inductees

Today, the National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletic Department announced the individuals that have been selected as the 2006 Hall of Fame Class. Five former University of Iowa student-athletes, one coach, and one administrator will be inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on September 2, 2006 (Iowa versus Montana football game day).

Athletes John Niland (Football 1963-65), Rummy Macias (Wrestling 1944-46, 48), Fred Brown (Basketball 1970-71) Reggie Roby (Football 1979-82), and Rafal Szukala (Swimming 1992-1995), are being inducted along with former Women’s Basketball Coach C. Vivian Stringer and former Athletic Director Dr. Christine Grant.

Heritage Era – Athletes
John Niland – While at Iowa John was selected as a First Team All-American in 1965 and First-team All-Big Ten conference; and named an All-American in 1964. After Iowa he was drafted by both the NFL and AFL: 5th overall NFL draft choice of Dallas Cowboys and also 13th Round AFL draft choice of the Oakland Raiders. He played 10 years and earned All-Pro Bowl honors 7 straight seasons, 1968-74.

Rummy Macias – While at Iowa Macias was a three-time All-American; a silver medalist at NCAA Championships in 1948: a two-time Big Ten champion; undefeated in dual meets and the first freshman to win a Big Ten Wrestling Conference Championship. Since his wrestling days at Iowa he has coached 93 All-Americans, 19 national individual champions, and has been inducted into 14 Wrestling Hall of Fames.

Modern Era – Athletes
Fred Brown – Fred was a First Team All-American; First Team All-Big Ten Conference; and averaged 27.6 points per game, which was 10th best in the NCAA and the highest by a Hawkeye in 1971. Fred played 13 seasons in the NBA with the Seattle SuperSonics (1971-1984). He was the captain of the 1978-79 World Championship team, selected as an NBA All-Star, and held 7 SuperSonics records when he retired in 1984.

Reggie Roby – An outstanding athlete, Roby was a two-time First Team All-American and named a Consensus All-American in 1981 and a three time First Team All-Big Ten Conference honoree. He averaged an NCAA-record 49.8 yards per punt, and set a Rose Bowl Record with a 51 yard average for four punts in 1981. He was a sixth Round draft choice of the Miami Dolphins and played a total of 16 years in the NFL.

Rafal Szukala – An accomplished swimmer, Rafal was the 1992 Olympic silver medalist and the Polish record holder in the 100 and 200m fly; five-time NCAA Champions (two individual, three relay); 20-time All-American (seven individual, thirteen relay), 7-time Big Ten Champion (four individual, three relay), and Rafal is one of Iowa’s greatest all-time swimmers.

C. Vivian Stringer – Coach Stringer lead the Hawkeyes to ten 20-victory seasons, nine NCAA tournament berths, six Big Ten titles, and an appearance in the NCAA Final Four. The Hawkeyes had 11 consecutive winning seasons after Stringers arrival in 1983 and her players earned eight All-Big Ten and seven All-Academic All-Big Ten honors. Stringer is the first coach in Men’s or Women’s Basketball history to lead three different schools to the Final Four.

Dr. Christine Grant – Dr. Grant was the founder of Women’s athletics at Iowa and served at the Director of Athletics for 27 years. During her tenure she oversaw 13 NCAA sports and won or shared in 27 Big Ten Conference team titles; captured a NCAA Field Hockey Championship; and ten coaches earned Coach of the Year honors. She was a founding member of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women, serving as President from 1979-82, and served as an expert consultant to the Health, Education and Welfare Office for Civil Rights Title IX Task Force

The seven inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least ten years prior to selection. Coaches and administrators must have retired or left the university at least five years prior to selection.

The Induction banquet/dinner will be held on September 2, 2006 in the Iowa Memorial Union Ballroom at 6:30 p.m., preceded by a reception at 5:30 p.m. in the Ballroom Lobby. The Induction banquet/dinner is open to the public. Tickets can be purchased for $25 by sending your name and check to Marilyn Broxey, 340 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52245 by Monday August 28th. For more info call 319-335-9247.