Hawkeyes Claim Auburn Invite Title

Sept. 30, 2006

Photo Gallery

Auburn, AL –

The University of Iowa women’s cross country team participated in the 5,000-meter race at the Auburn Invitational in Auburn, AL. Putting together a solid finish, the Hawkeyes captured the Invitational’s team title, outscoring the second place team by nearly 80 points. Individual winner was Iowa’s Diane Nukuri with a time of 16:10. The Hawkeyes clinched the title with strong finishes from Nukuri, junior Meghan Armstrong (2nd, 16:26), senior Shannon Stanley (3rd, 16:56), freshman Jolly Burke (4th, 16:59), and junior Racheal Marchand (6th, 17:02). Other Hawkeye runners were freshman Krista Anderson (12th, 17:26), junior Jessica Schmidt (17th, 17:44), freshman Katie Ellis (18th, 17:45), junior Molly Esche (21st, 17:50) and freshman Jennie Docherty (63rd, 18:36).

Next week the Hawkeyes will travel to Cedar Rapids, IA for the Coe College Invitational where the will run a 6,000 meter race.

WOMEN’S TEAM RESULTS (Top five teams)
1. IOWA 16
2. Auburn 93
3. F.S.U 132
4. Stephen F. Austin 133
5. Samford 160

(Top five plus Iowa)
1. Diane Nukuri (IOWA) 16:10
2. Meghan Armstrong (IOWA) 16:26
3. Shannon Stanley (IOWA) 16:56
4. Jolly Burke (IOWA) 16:59
5. Ashley Monteau (Stephen F. Austin) 17:00
6. Racheal Marchand (IOWA) 17:02
12. Krista Anderson (IOWA) 17:26
17. Jessica Schmidt (IOWA) 17:44
18. Katie Ellis (IOWA) 17:45
21. Molly Esche (IOWA) 17:50
63. Jennie Docherty (IOWA) 18:36