Hawkeyes Honored By Big Ten

Nov. 21, 2006

2006 All-Big Ten Team in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY — Five University of Iowa football players have been named to the 2006 first or second all-Big Ten teams. The teams selected by the league coaches and a panel of media voters were announced today.

Senior offensive lineman Mike Jones was named to the first unit by the coaches and second team by the media. Senior offensive lineman Marshal Yanda was recognized on the coaches’ second team. Senior tight end Scott Chandler was named to the coaches’ second team. Senior defensive back Marcus Paschal earned second team accolades by the coaches, while junior linebacker Mike Klinkenborg earned second team all-league recognition by the media.

Earning honorable mention honors were: OL Mike Elgin (coaches and media), PK Kyle Schlicher (coaches and media), DE Bryan Mattison (coaches and media), LB Mike Klinkenborg (coaches), OL Marshal Yanda (media), DB Marcus Paschal (media), DB Adam Shada (media), DB Miguel Merrick (media) and P Andy Fenstermaker (coaches).

Wisconsin’s Bret Bielema was named Coach of the Year. Ohio State QB Troy Smith was named Offensive Player of the Year and Michigan DL LaMarr Woodley was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year. Wisconsin RB P.J. Hill was recognized as Freshman of the Year.

Iowa finished with a 6-6 regular season record and will be headed to its sixth straight bowl game – its second-longest bowl streak. The Hawkeyes will be playing in their 22nd bowl game this season, which is the third-most among Big Ten teams.