National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame Inducts Five

June 9, 2007

Today, the National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletic Department announced the individuals that have been selected as the 2007 Hall of Fame Class. Five former University of Iowa student-athletes will be inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on September 8, 2007 (Iowa versus Syracuse football game day).

William Buck (Gymnastics 1958-60), Cynthia Haugejorde (Basketball 1977-80), Tim Costo (Baseball 1988-90), Erica Richards (Field Hockey 1986-89), and Andre Tippett (Football 1980-81) represent Iowa’s newest class of Hall of Fame inductees.

Heritage Era – Athletes

William Buck (Gymnastics) – An accomplished gymnast, Bill was an NCAA Champion (1958), three-time All-American (1958-60) and three-time Big Ten Champion (1958-1960) in the Pommel Horse. Bill was also an All-American and Big Ten Champion in the Parallel Bars in 1959. He was awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor in 1961.

Cindy Haugejorde

Cynthia Haugejorde (Basketball) – Cynthia had a very distinguished career at Iowa and currently holds nine all-time records at Iowa including points and rebounds in a season and career. She was a District V All-American and Wade Trophy Finalist in 1980. Cynthia was then drafted as the 6th overall pick of the Women’s Basketball League in 1980 and was voted an All-Pro and All-Star while playing for the San Franciscan Pioneers. Cynthia also played two years in the Italian League.

Modern Era – Athletes

Tim Costo

Tim Costo (Baseball) – While at Iowa, Tim was a two-time All-American (1989-90), and a two-time All-Big Ten selection (1988-90). Tim was named to the Baseball American and The Sporting News 1st Teams in 1990. Tim holds Iowa’s all-time home run record (41) is fifth all-time in RBI (163), and started every game in his Iowa career (168). Tim was drafted as the 8th overall pick by the Cleveland Indians in the 1990 free agent draft.

Erica Richards

Erica Richards (Field Hockey) – Erica’s legacy at Iowa includes a two-time First Team All-American selection, a three-time First-Team All-Region selection, a three-time First Team All-Big Ten selection, and a nomination for the Honda Broderick Sports Award in 1988. In 1989, Erica was a member of the All-Big Ten Academic Team and she received the Big Ten Medal of Honor. Erica played on the USA National Team in 1990 and was named to the 1981-1991 All-Decade Big Ten Team. Erica was a member of Iowa’s 1986 National Championship team and 1988 National Runner-Up team.

Andre Tippett

Andre Tippett (Football) – Andre was named a Consensus First Team All-American his senior season and was a two-time First Team All-Big Ten selection. Andre currently holds the Iowa records for most tackles for loss in a season and career. Andre led the Big Ten in sacks for a loss with 20 for 153 yards as a junior and was a member of Iowa’s 1981 Rose Bowl Team as a senior. Tippett was drafted by the New England Patriots in the 2nd round of the 1982 draft. He was named to the Pro-Bowl five consecutive years, and was named the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year in 1985.

The five inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least ten years prior to selection.

The Induction banquet/dinner will be held on September 8, 2007 in the Iowa Memorial Union Main Lounge at 12:30 p.m., preceded by a reception at 11:30 a.m. The Induction banquet/dinner is open to the public. Tickets can be purchased for $25 by sending your name and check to Marilyn Broxey, University of Iowa Athletics, 340 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52242 by Monday August 28th. For more information please call (319) 335-9438.