Larry Station on the NFF Hall of Fame ballot

March 11, 2008

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Larry Station, who terrorized Big Ten offenses from 1982-85 while playing linebacker for the University of Iowa, is one of 75 former college football players on the ballot for possible induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Station was a two-time first team All-America selection. He was a consensus pick in 1984 and a unanimous choice in 1985. Iowa’s all-time leading tackler with 492, Station was a three-time first team All-Big Ten selection and he was named team captain and Most Valuable Player in 1985.

With Station securing the defensive side of the ball, the Hawkeyes posted season records of 8-4, 9-3, 8-4-1 and 10-2 and played in four bowl games — Peach, Gator, Freedom and Rose, winning the Peach Bowl 28-22 against Tennessee in 1982 and the Freedom Bowl 55-17 against Texas in 1984.

Station had 492 career tackles — the most in Hawkeye history — but he is best remembered for his game-saving tackle of running back Jamie Morris in Iowa’s 1985 game against Michigan. The game was one of the most anticipated in school history, as Iowa was ranked No. 1 in the Associated Press poll, while Michigan was ranked No. 2. Michigan held a 10-9 lead with just minutes left on the clock at Kinnick Stadium, when the Wolverines faced third-and-2. Station anticipated the handoff to Morris and dropped him for a 2-yard loss. The Wolverines were forced to punt and Iowa kicker Rob Houghtlin kicked a game-winning field goal as time expired to give Iowa a 12-10 victory.

Station, a native of Omaha, Neb., played one season of professional football with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Station was inducted into the Iowa Sports Hall of Fame in 2000. In 1989, Iowa fans selected Station to the all-time University of Iowa football team during the 100th anniversary celebration of Iowa football. In 1999, Sports Illustrated selected Station as the 38th greatest sports figure in history from the state of Nebraska.

To view the complete release from the National Football Foundation, CLICK HERE. The release lists all 75 eligible players and the eight coaches who are also eligible for the voting.

Click HERE for the Big Ten Network home page.