Four Hawkeyes Named First Team All-Big Ten

Nov. 24, 2008

IOWA CITY, IA – A pair of University of Iowa football standouts have won two of the Big Ten’s major awards. Running back Shonn Greene has been selected as the league’s Offensive Player of the Year while defensive tackle Mitch King has been named Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year. The league’s major awards, including the all-Big Ten teams, were announced Monday evening.

Greene becomes the second Hawkeye to win the top offensive award under Coach Kirk Ferentz. The first was Brad Banks in 2002. Greene is also a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, which goes annually to the nation’s top collegiate running back. The last Hawkeye to win the defensive prize was Jared Devries in 1997. Four Hawkeye players have been named first-team all-Big Ten for the 2008 season. Joining Greene and King as first team selections are offensive lineman Seth Olsen and tight end Brandon Myers. Greene, King and Olsen were named to the first team by both coaches and the media. Myers made the first coaches unit. Greene was a unanimous pick by the media and King was unanimous by the coaches.

Iowa players named to the second all-Big Ten unit included center Rob Bruggeman, offensive linemen Bryan Bulaga and Kyle Calloway, linebacker Pat Angerer, defensive tackle Matt Kroul, defensive back Amari Spievey and punter Ryan Donahue. Named to the honorable mention unit was linebacker A.J. Edds and defensive backs Bradley Fletcher and Brett Greenwood.

“Our representation on the Big Ten awards list is a credit to how hard the entire team worked this season,” said Iowa Coach Kirk Ferentz. “We’re especially proud of Shonn and Mitch for winning prestigious individual awards. Fourteen members of this team are listed on the all-Big Ten teams. All of their achievements are a result of a total team effort.”

The Big Ten’s Most Valuable Player, named by the Chicago Tribune, will be announced at a later date.

A complete listing of the all-Big Ten teams and other league awards can be viewed at