Greene named Big Ten's most valuable

2008-09 University of Iowa Bowl Game Ticket Application (v3)

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa All-American running back Shonn Greene has won the Chicago Tribune’s Silver Football, emblematic of the Big Ten Conference’s Most Valuable Player. The announcement came today following a vote of Big Ten head coaches.

To read the article in the Chicago Tribune, wriiten by Teddy Greenstein, click HERE.

Greene, a junior from Sicklerville, N.J., received seven first-place votes (coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players). Penn State’s Derrick Williams (wide receiver) received two first-place votes while Penn State’s Daryll Clark (quarterback) and Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis (linebacker) each grabbed one vote.

It’s the second time UI head coach Kirk Ferentz has had the league’s Player of the Year. Quarterback Brad Banks won the award in 2002. It’s the 10th time an Iowa football player has won the award. Greene has already been named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and was a first-team all-Big Ten selection by both the coaches and media.

Greene rushed for 1,729 yards in 2008 to establish an Iowa record for rushing yards in a season. He was the only player in the nation to run for more than 100 yards in all 12 games. His 217 rushing yards against Wisconsin ties for the sixth-most ever at Iowa. Greene also rushed for 211 against Purdue. His 17 rushing touchdowns tie the Hawkeye record for most in a single season.

Iowa’s previous winners of the Silver Football are:

1929 Willis Glassgow Halfback
1933 Joe Laws Quarterback
1939 Nile Kinnick Halfback
1951 Bill Reichardt Quarterback
1956 Ken Ploen Quarterback
1958 Randy Duncan Quarterback
1985 Chuck Long Quarterback
1990 Nick Bell Running back
2002 Brad Banks Quarterback