Former Hawkeye Head Coach Elected to Basketball Hall of Fame

April 6, 2009

DETROIT, MI – – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is pleased to announce that Michael Jordan, David Robinson, Jerry Sloan, John Stockton, and C. Vivian Stringer have been named today as the Enshrinement Class of 2009. The announcement was made at a press conference today in Detroit, Michigan, the site of the 2009 NCAA Final Four. The five-member class is made up of three players who enjoyed lengthy and successful NBA careers and two coaches who dedicated their careers to the Utah Jazz and Rutgers University, respectively. The 2009 induction ceremony will mark the 50th anniversary for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Jordan, Robinson, Sloan, and Stockton were all elected in their first year of consideration into the Hall of Fame, while Stringer has been named a Finalist in prior years.

“We are extremely pleased and honored to introduce this historic Class” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “We look forward to welcoming them all to Springfield and to a wonderful Enshrinement Weekend.”

To be elected, finalists need 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The Class of 2009 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, MA September 10-12, 2009. Ticket packages to the 2009 Enshrinement Gala and all Enshrinement Weekend Events are on-sale now and available by calling the Hall of Fame at (413) 781-6500. Additional Enshrinement Weekend information can also be found at

Michael Jordan – Player, is one of the most recognized figures in the sporting world. Jordan was selected as a unanimous collegiate All-American twice (1983, 1984) at the University of North Carolina where he won an NCAA Championship and received both Naismith and Wooden Award Honors. He went on to a storied NBA career with the Chicago Bulls and Washington Wizards and was a 14-time NBA All-Star, a five-time NBA MVP, a six-time NBA Finals MVP, and won multiple All-NBA First Team honors while winning six NBA Championships. Jordan was also named NBA Defensive Player of the Year (1988) and was a nine-time member of the NBA All-Defensive Team. The NBA’s Rookie of the Year in 1985, Jordan was also named to the NBA’s 50th Anniversary Team and won two Olympic Gold Medals including one with the original “Dream Team” in 1992 and one as a collegian in 1984.

David Robinson – Player, spent his entire NBA career with the San Antonio Spurs, guiding them to two NBA Championships while being named to 10 NBA All-Star Teams, four All-NBA First Team Selections, one NBA League MVP and was selected to the NBA’s 50th Anniversary Team. Robinson also won two Olympic Gold Medals, including his participation on the legendary 1992 “Dream Team” and with the 1996 Gold Medal Olympic team. During Robinson’s college career at the U.S. Naval Academy, he earned Player of the Year, Naismith and Wooden Honors while leading the nation in rebounding and blocked shots.

Jerry Sloan – Coach, began his coaching career as an Assistant Coach with the Chicago Bulls before beginning his tremendous career with the Utah Jazz. He is the only coach in NBA history to win over 1,000 games with a single team while compiling a winning percentage of over .600. Sloan led the Jazz to two NBA Finals, 18 playoff appearances and is fourth on the NBA list of coaching victories. Sloan was also named as the Sporting News NBA Coach of the Year in 2004.

John Stockton – Player, spent his entire NBA career with the Utah Jazz, accumulating 15,806 assists and 3,265 steals – both NBA records at his retirement. He was named to 10 NBA All-Star teams and was selected as a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary Team while leading the Jazz to two NBA Finals. He was also named to the All-NBA First Teams in 1994 and 1995. Like Robinson, Stockton won two Olympic Gold Medals (1992, 1996) and was a member of the original “Dream Team”.

C. Vivian Stringer – Coach, has won more than 800 games in her career and currently ranks third on the women’s all-time career wins list. She is the first coach to lead three different schools to the NCAA Final Four including Cheyney State, the University of Iowa and Rutgers University where she is currently. Coach Stringer is also enshrined at the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level worldwide – professional, collegiate, men and women. For more information, please visit our website at or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA.