Chaney Takes Two In Champaign, IL

May 3, 2009

Illinios Invite Complete Results

CHAMPAIGN, IL – The University of Iowa track and field teams were split in Saturday action between the Illinois Invite, hosted by the University of Illinois, and the Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational, hosted by Stanford University. All told, the Hawkeyes crowned nine event champions and saw five regional qualifying performances.

At Illinois, junior Paul Chaney, Jr. took the 100 (10.51) and the 200-meter dash (21.14), both with regional qualifying times. His two performances are new collegiate bests for the St. Louis, MO, native. Junior Ray Varner came out with yet another regionally qualifying showing in the 400-meter hurdles (51.29) winning that event. Iowa’s 1,600-meter relay team also worked together to another regional qualifying mark (3rd, 3:09.40). Senior John Hickey won the shot put (60-1 3/4) with a season best regional qualifying toss as well. Other event winners for the men include sophomore Brian Marchese in the 1,500 meters (3:52.19), sophomore James Paul in the 3,000 meters (8:34.81), and junior Zachary Schimp in the javelin (188-3 1/2).

Sophomore Karessa Farley ran a gem in the 100-meter hurdles (2nd, 13.44), cruising her way to a collegiate-best regionally qualifying performance. Her finish places her second all-time in the Iowa record books. Senior Mandy Chandler won the women’s hammer throw (158-4 3/4) with a collegiate best toss that ranks fourth in school history. Freshman Brooke Eilers came out on top in an Iowa-heavy 1,500-meter run (1st, 4:35.29), with junior Hannah Roeder (2nd, 4:35.78)and sophomore Amanda Hardesty (3rd, 4:37.92) completing the top-three sweep.

Iowa had three distance runners in west-coast action at the Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational as well, with Senior Andy Napier in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (18th, 9:18.95) and Senior Eric MacTaggart (19th, 14:18.12) and graduate student Sarah Spencer Perry (20th, 17:48.19) in the 5,000 meters.

The Hawkeyes will head to the Big Ten Outdoor Championships May 15-17 at Columbus, OH. All events will be held at Ohio State’s Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

Events at the co-ed meet are set to start at 11 a.m. (CT) Friday, 10:30 a.m. Saturday and 11:30 a.m. Sunday. Live results will be available at

All-session tickets are $18 for adults and $10 for students, while single-session tickets are $7 for adults and $5 for students. Tickets may be purchased by contacting the Ohio State Athletic Ticket Office at or 1-800-462-8257.