Stanzi Named Davey O'Brien Semifinalist

Oct. 26, 2009

IOWA CITY, IA — The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award announced today its 2009 O’Brien semifinalists and Iowa’s Ricky Stanzi is on the list. Narrowed down from all 120 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks, the list highlights 15 individuals who will vie for the oldest and most prestigious award honoring the nation’s best college quarterback.

The 2009 O’Brien Semifinalists represent schools from the following conferences: ACC (1), Big East (2), Big Ten (2), Big 12 (3), Conference USA (1), Independent (1), Mid-American (1), Pac-10 (2), SEC (1) and the WAC (1).

Stanzi, a 6-4, 218-lb junior from Mentor, O., has quarterbacked the Hawkeyes to an 8-0 record and a fourth-place spot in the current BCS standings. Stanzi has already passed for 1,715 yards and 12 touchdowns this season. He has posted a 16-3 record as a Hawkeye starter.

Two Iowa quarterbacks have won the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s top quarterback. Chuck Long won the honor in 1985 and Brad Banks was the nations best in 2002.

2009 O'Brien Semifinalists
Matt Barkley FR USC Pac-10Daryll Clark SR Penn State Big TenJimmyClausen JR Notre Dame IndependentJacory Harris SO Miami ACCCase Keenum JR Houston Conference USADan LeFevour SR Central Mich. Mid-AmericanJake Locker JR Washington Pac-10Colt McCoy SR Texas Big 12Kellen Moore SO Boise State WACTony Pike SR Cincinnati Big EastTodd Reesing SR Kansas Big 12Zac Robinson SR Oklahoma State Big 12Ricky Stanzi JR Iowa Big TenBill Stull SR Pittsburgh Big EastTim Tebow SR Florida SEC="'Brien%20Winner%20will%20be%20announced%20live%20on%20The%20Home%20Depot%20ESPNU%20College%20Football%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Awards%20Show%20airing%20Dec.%2010%20on%20ESPN%20and%20will%20be%20honored%20at%20the%2033rd%20Annual%20Davey%20O'Brien%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20Awards%20Dinner%20held%20at%20The%20Fort%20Worth%20Club%20on%20Feb.%2015,%202010%20in%20Fort%20Worth,%20Texas.%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%20%3Cdiv%20style="text-align: center">