Angerer Among Five Finalists for Bronko Nagurski Trophy

Nov. 19, 2009

DALLAS (FWAA) – Five finalists for the 2009 Bronko Nagurski Trophy were announced today by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club and Iowa’s Pat Angerer was on the list. Joining Angerer as finalists are Tennessee strong safety Eric Berry, Alabama defensive tackle Terrence Cody, TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes and Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh. They are vying for one of the FWAA’s highest honors, its National Defensive Player of the Year award.

Angerer, a 6-1, 235-pound senior from Bettendorf, IA, leads Iowa in tackles with 119 this season. After also leading the team in tackles a year ago, Angerer has led the Hawkeyes in tackles the last eight games. Angerer had 12 tackles in wins over Indiana and Michigan and nine at Michigan State. He collected a career-high 17 tackles in the loss to Northwestern. He had five solo stops among his 13 tackles at Ohio State.

The winner will be announced on Dec. 7 and presented the Bronko Nagurski Trophy at a gala banquet at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, NC, where North Carolina State coach Tom O’Brien will be the keynote speaker.

The FWAA’s National Defensive Player of the Year Award is named after Bronko Nagurski, who dominated college football at Minnesota as a bruising fullback and defensive tackle from 1927-29. He could have been an All-American at any position playing 60 minutes and was the best player wherever he lined up.