Alexander Named Finalist For WBCA All-America Honors

March 25, 2010

IOWA CITY – Junior Kachine Alexander has been named one of 40 finalists for the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) State Farm Coaches’ all-America Team. The announcement was made Thursday by the WBCA.

Last week, Alexander was one of 52 Division I women’s basketball players to earn WBCA all-region honors. The list of 52 all-region players was trimmed to 40 finalists this week, and the 10-member all-America team will be announced at the Final Four Saturday, April 3.

Alexander was a first team all-Big Ten selection and was also one of five players named to the Big Ten all-Defensive team. She led the Hawkeyes with 16 points and 10.4 rebounds per contest. The Minneapolis, MN, native claimed the Big Ten rebounding title, averaging 11.1 boards per game in league games. She is one of only two guards in the country to average a double-double, and ranks 22nd nationally in rebounding.

Alexander finished the season with 15 double-doubles, which was one shy of tying the school record for single-season double-doubles held by Amy Herrig. She became Iowa’s all-time leading rebounder among juniors this season, and finished with 281 boards.

All four players from the Big Ten who were all-region selections made the cut from 52 to 40 players. Alexander was joined by Ohio State’s Samantha Prahalis and Jantel Lavender along with Illinois’ Jenna Smith.

WBCA State Farm Coaches’ All-America Team Finalists
Danielle Adams – Texas A&M
Kachine Alexander – Iowa
Jayne Appel – Stanford
Angie Bjorklund – Tennessee
Kelley Cain – Tennessee
Tina Charles – Connecticut
Alysha Clark – Middle Tennessee State
Elena Delle Donne – Delaware
Skylar Diggins – Notre Dame
Victoria Dunlap – Kentucky
Dawn Evans – James Madison
Alexis Gray-Lawson – California
Kalana Greene – Connecticut
Kelsey Griffin – Nebraska
Brittney Griner – Baylor
Amber Harris – Xavier
Allison Hightower – Louisiana State
Alison Lacey – Iowa State
Jantel Lavender – Ohio State
Jacinta Monroe – Florida State
Maya Moore – Connecticut
Jene Morris – San Diego State
Nnemkadi Ogwumike – Stanford
Ta’Shia Phillips – Xavier
Samantha Prahalis – Ohio State
Lauren Prochaska – Bowling Green
Alexis Rack – Mississippi State
Chastity Reed – Arkansas-Little Rock
Andrea Riley – Oklahoma State
Danielle Robinson – Oklahoma
Jaleesa Ross – Fresno State
Lindsay Schrader – Notre Dame
Jenna Smith – Illinois
Da’Shena Stevens – Saint John’s
Shekinna Stricklen – Tennessee
Helena Sverrisdottir – Texas Christian
Jasmine Thomas – Duke
Bianca Thomas – Mississippi
Courtney Vandersloot – Gonzaga
Monica Wright – Virginia