Football Leadership Group Named

April 20, 2010

IOWA CITY – Fifteen University of Iowa football players have been named to the team’s 2010 Hawkeye Leadership Group. Head Coach Kirk Ferentz announced the group following a vote by members of each individual class.

Seven seniors, four juniors, two sophomores and two freshmen (redshirt) make up the Hawkeye Leadership Group. A member of the 2010 incoming freshman class will be added in the fall.

The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season.

“As always, the players have done a fine job in their selections for the Leadership Group,” said Ferentz. “The coaching staff looks forward to working with the 2010 group as we shape policies and decisions regarding the upcoming season. This group is very important to all of us involved with Iowa football.”

The 2010 Hawkeye Leadership Group includes:

Broderick Binns – DE – Junior – St. Paul, MN
Greg Castillo – DB – Sophomore – Mt. Laurel, NJ
Adrian Clayborn – DE – Senior – St. Louis, MO
Shane DiBona – LB – Freshman – Duxbury, MA
Brett Greenwood – DB – Senior – Bettendorf, IA
Karl Klug – DT – Senior – Caledonia, MN
Marvin McNutt – WR – Junior – St. Louis, MO
Brett Morse – FB – Senior – Willowbrook, IL
Tyler Nielsen – LB – Junior – Humboldt, IA
Tyler Sash – DB – Junior – Oskaloosa, IA
Ricky Stanzi – QB – Senior – Mentor, OH
Jeff Tarpinian – LB – Senior – Omaha, NE
James Vandenberg – QB – Sophomore – Keokuk, IA
Julian Vandervelde – OL – Senior – Davenport, IA
Brett Van Sloten – OL – Freshman – Decorah, IA