Long Joins Alumni in Final

April 22, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA – More than 100 former University of Iowa swimmers competed with the 2009-10 Hawkeyes during the annual Alumni Meet at the Field House Pool last Saturday. The final event at the historic pool was part of a celebratory weekend for Iowa swimming and diving that included the team’s awards banquet Saturday night. Over 400 swimmers, divers, alumni, parents and supporters recognized the 2009-10 team at the Coralville Marriot. Nearly 300 people kicked off the weekend’s festivities at Friday night’s alumni social, held in Kinnick Stadium’s Paul W. Brechler Press Box.

Participants included former Olympians, NCAA Champions and Big Ten Champions. Iowa Head Coach Marc Long, who was a six-time all-American and three-time Big Ten champion at Iowa from 1987-89, was among the former Hawkeyes bidding farewell to Field House Pool after 83 years of competition.

“We actually had 110 alumni swim and many more watching in the stands at the alumni meet,” said Long. “It was really a special time. We had a lot of fun watching the swimmers and divers.”

Sophomore Paul Gordon was named MVP of the men’s team at Saturday’s banquet. Gordon earned season best times in the 100 free (43.88), 200 free (1:36.01) and the 500 free (4:22.55) at Big Ten Championships. He was also a member of the recording setting 800 free relay (6:27.66). Michael Gilligan earned the “Lobby” Lobdell Men’s Diving MVP Award for the third time in his career, setting the school platform record of 354.95 at the Big Ten Championships. Gilligan previously held the record with a score of 335.45.

Hawkeye senior Nick Divan and junior Max Dittmer rounded out the men’s award winners. Divan earned the Jim Marshall Award, which is annually presented to the senior who has contributed the best of his athletic ability. A four-year letterwinner, his best times in the 500 free (4:21.25) and 1,650 free (15:14.78) rank fifth and fourth, respectively, on Iowa’s all-time best performers list. Dittmer received the Irving B. Weber Leadership Award as well as the Strength and Conditioning Award. He posted collegiate best times in the 100 back (48.75) and 200 back (1:46/72). Dittmer was also a member on the record setting 200 medley relay (1:29.02) and 400 medley relay (3:15.37).

“We presented our letter awards and honored some of the successes we had as a team at the awards banquet,” said Long. “It was a special night. The kind of support shown to our swimming and diving teams is one of the great things about our program. In sheer numbers, the support is tremendous. The only word to describe it is, magical.”

2009-2010 Men’s Swimming and Diving Awards
Armbruster/Patton MVP: Paul Gordon
Jim Marshall Award: Nick Divan
Irving D. Weber Leadership Award: Max Dittmer
“Lobby” Lobdell Diving MVP Award: Michael Gilligan
Strength and Conditioning Achievement Award: Max Dittmer