Hawkeyes Announce Team Awards

May 10, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA – – Several University of Iowa tennis players received awards at the team’s annual banquet May 8, Head Coach Steve Houghton announced Monday afternoon.

Will Vasos was the winner of the Tyler Cleveland Most Valuable Player award. The sophomore also compiled the Outstanding Singles Record (along with junior Austen Kauss) and the Outstanding Doubles Record with senior partner Tommy McGeorge. Vasos was also recently named Iowa’s Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree.

Sophomore Marc Bruche, the Hawkeyes’ No. 1 player, earned the Outstanding Newcomer award. Kauss was also honored with the Most Improved Player award and shared the Gene Gauron Mental Toughness Award with Vasos.

The Hawkeyes said farewell to three seniors, Reinoud Haal, Patrick Dwyer and McGeorge. All three made major contributions to a much improved Hawkeye team over their four years.

Iowa finished the 2010 season with a 13-10 overall record, their third straight winning season, and five wins over conference opponents.