Six Hawkeyes Earn Academic Honors

July 30, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA – A school-record six University of Iowa track and field student-athletes were recently named to the 2010 United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) Division I All-Academic Track and Field Team.

Four Hawkeye women were recognized for their efforts in the classroom and on the track, including sophomore McKenzie Melander, who earned academic honors for the second straight year. She is joined on the list by junior Amanda Hardesty, sophomore Tiffany Medenwalt and junior Bethany Praska. The Hawkeye men are represented by freshman Kevin Dibbern and sophomore Erik Sowinski.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA all-academic track and field team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either the NCAA Division I Indoor automatic or provisional qualifying standard or participated in the NCAA Division I Outdoor Championships (including preliminary rounds) in their respective event.

A record total of 557 student-athletes representing 152 institutions compose the women’s 2010 all-academic track and field team. The Big Ten notched the conference lead with 65 all-academic nods.

The men’s team was composed of a record total of 357 student-athletes representing 118 institutions. The Big Ten was represented by 37 all-academic honorees, trailing only the Pac-10, who led the conference order with 45.

Complete list of women’s honorees

Complete list of men’s honorees