Murray Named To Lou Groza Award Watch List

Aug. 23, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA – – University of Iowa senior placekicker Daniel Murray has been named to the Lou Groza Award Watch List. The award, given annually to the nation’s top placekicker by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission, features 30 student-athletes on its preseason watch list.

Kickers on the Lou Groza Award Watch List were chosen based on statistics from the 2009 season and 2010 pre-season expectations. Murray, an Iowa City native, handled all kicking duties for the Hawkeyes in 2009. The former Regina High School standout scored 89 points, connecting on 19-26 field goals and 32-33 PATs, with a long field goal of 48 yards. The 89 points tie for the 11th most in a single season in Hawkeye history. He was named honorable mention all-Big Ten by league media.

A three-time academic all-Big Ten honoree, Murray ranks 13th in Iowa career scoring with 158 points.

The award, is named for National Football League (NFL) Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954.

Semi-finalists for the award will be announced on Friday, Oct. 29. Three finalists will be named Monday, Nov. 22. The winner will be announced Thursday, Dec. 9, during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Award Show, broadcast live from Orlando, FL.

Murray is one of seven Hawkeyes to be named to various preseason Watch Lists for the upcoming season, joining senior WR Derrell Johnson-Koulianos (Paul Hornung), junior DE Broderick Binns (Ted Hendricks), senior DE Adrian Clayborn (Walter Camp, Ted Hendricks, Chuck Bednarik, Rotary Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski), senior punter Ryan Donahue (Ray Guy), senior DT Karl Klug (Outland) and junior DB Tyler Sash (Jim Thorpe, Chuck Bednarik, Lott Trophy, Bronko Nagurski).

The Hawkeyes open the regular season Saturday, Sept. 4 against Eastern Illinois in Kinnick Stadium. Kickoff is slated for 11:05 a.m.