Vandervelde Named Scholar-Athlete Semi-finalist

Sept. 30, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa offensive lineman Julian Vandervelde has been named a semi-finalist for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy. The award, formerly known as the Draddy Trophy, is given by the National Football Foundation to a premier scholar-athlete in college football.

Selected as the best and brightest from the college gridiron, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the 121 semi-finalists for the award.

Vandervelde, a senior from Davenport, IA, was an academic district all-American for the second straight year last season. He has been a first team academic all-Big Ten pick the last three years. He is also a member of Iowa’s Leadership Council. He is a three-year letterman who has captained the Hawkeyes in every game this year. “This year’s Campbell Trophy semi-finalists embody the National Football Foundation’s mission of building leaders through football,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning whose sons Peyton (1997 Campbell Trophy winner) and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, semi-finalists must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The trophy was renamed last fall in honor of Bill Campbell, the chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

The NFF Awards Committee will select up to 15 finalists and announce the results via national press release on Thursday, Oct. 28. Each finalist will be recognized as part of the 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, receiving an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The Campbell Trophy winner, who will have his scholarship increased to $25,000 and receive a 25-pound bronze trophy, will be announced live at the NFF’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 at the prestigious Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Iowa linebacker Mike Klinkenborg was a finalist for the 2007 award.