Sash Named Jim Thorpe Semifinalist

Nov. 2, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – University of Iowa junior defensive back Tyler Sash has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award. The award is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate defensive back. The announcement came today from the Jim Thorpe Award screening committee. It’s the second straight year Sash has made the semifinal list.

Sash is a 6-1, 210-pounder from Oskaloosa, IA. He has started 32 games in his Hawkeye career, including the last 29. He currently ranks fifth in the Iowa record books with 13 career interceptions. Last week he intercepted a Michigan State pass and lateralled it back to Micah Hyde for a touchdown (total distance of 72 yards). The play came in Iowa’s 37-6 win over the fifth-ranked Spartans.

Sash holds the Iowa record and ranks fourth in the Big Ten record books with 392 interception return yards. He led Iowa with six interceptions last year. He has 186 career tackles that includes 48 stops this year. He has helped Iowa’s 2010 defense rank fifth nationally in rushing defense (84.5), eighth in scoring defense (14.5) and 12th in total defense (292.3).

The 2010 semi-finalists are:
Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska
Mark Barron, Jr., Alabama
Chimdi Chekwa, Sr., Ohio State
Brandon Harris, Jr., Miami (FL)
Cliff Harris, Soph., Oregon
Tejay Johnson, Sr., TCU
Joe Lefeged, Sr., Rutgers
Rahim Moore, Jr., UCLA
Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU
Tyler Sash, Jr., Iowa

The Jim Thorpe Award is one of college football’s most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as “The Legend”, Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The announcement of the Jim Thorpe Award winner will be featured on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The Thorpe Award winner will be announced on the show and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on February 7, 2011.