Iowa Track And Field Opens Indoor Season

Nov. 30, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format

The Hawkeyes open the 2010-11 track and field season Saturday with the Intrasquad meet. The event will be held at the Recreation Building and is scheduled to begin at 4 p.m.

The Hawkeyes will compete in eight meets prior to the Big Ten Championships, Last Chance Meet and NCAA Championships during the 10-week track and field indoor season.

Iowa will host two meets at the University of Iowa Recreation Building. The Iowa Open is set for Jan. 15th and the Iowa Invitational will take place on Feb. 18th.

The women’s 2011 Big Ten Indoor Championships will take place in West Lafayette, IN, on the campus of the University of Purdue, while the men’s team will compete in Champaign, Illinois at the University of IL.

The Hawkeyes will compete throughout the season to qualify for the NCAA Indoor Championships, scheduled for March 11-12 in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Iowa welcomes back all-American honorees Patrick Richards, Chris Barton, Steven Willey and Erik Sowinski for the 2011 season. The four student-athletes earned the prestigious recognition following a successful season competing in the 1,600 meter relay. The team, made up of two juniors and two sophomores, capped off the season with a seventh place finish at the NCAA Outdoor Championships after running a time of 3:05.61 in Eugene, Oregon.

Layne Anderson
Layne Anderson is in his third year as head coach of the University of Iowa women’s cross country and track and field teams. He has served as the Hawkeyes’ head women’s cross country coach for the past seven seasons, and was the interim head women’s track and field coach in 2008. From 2003-07, he served as an assistant women’s track and field coach for the Hawkeyes.

In 2010, 14 Hawkeyes qualified in 18 events for the NCAA Outdoor Championships.

Larry Wieczorek
Larry Wieczorek is in his 24th season as head men’s cross country coach and is in his 15th season as head men’s track and field coach at the University of Iowa. He served as an assistant track and field coach for 12 years before taking the helm in 1997.

Last season, Wieczorek guided 28 qualifiers, made up of 20 student-athletes competing in 13 individual events and two relays to the NCAA Outdoor Championships preliminary round.

The Hawkeyes return 52 letterwinners from 2010. The women’s squad welcomes back 21 letterwinners, including NCAA Outdoor Championship qualifiers Betsy Flood and Lauren Hardesty. The men’s team returns 31 letterwinners, including all-American runners Richards, Barton, Willey and Sowinski.

Thirty-four student-athletes competed for Iowa at the preliminary round of the NCAA Outdoor Championships last season. A number of Hawkeyes qualified in multiple events. Matt Banse, Barton, Richards, D’Juan Richardson, Zeke Sayon, Sowinski, Willey, Karessa Farley, Raven Moore and Rhonda-Kaye Trusty all competed in two or more events in the first round.

Flood and Hardesty both advanced to the women’s championships in the 1,500 Meters. Matt Byers, Ryan Lamparek, Ray Varner and Willey each earned bids to the championships in individual events, while Richards, Sowinski, Barton and Willey competed in the 1,600-meter Relay.

Iowa competes in its first meet of the season at the Illinois Open. The Hawkeyes will compete in Champaign, IL, Jan. 8th. Following the Illinois Open, the Black and Gold prepare to host the Iowa Open January 15th.