Husz Earns Conference Recognition

Dec. 1, 2010

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The Big Ten Conference announced Tuesday that Mallory Husz has been recognized as a 2010 Sportsmanship Honoree. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports competition setting. This is the second consecutive season Husz has earned the award.

Husz is a member of Iowa’s Leadership Council and ranked second on the team with career highs in kills (237) and blocks (93). She was named MVP of the Hawkeye Challenge and earned all-tournament honors at the Marcia E. Hamilton Active Ankle Challenge in St. Louis, MO.

The Council Bluffs, IA, native started 28 of Iowa’s 29 matches. She is a three-time letterwinner and a health sciences major.

2010 Big Ten Sportsmanship Honorees:
Nicole Kump, ILL
Taylor Wittmer, IND
Maggie Busch, MICH
Jenilee Rathje, MSU
Mia Tabberson, MINN
Elyse Glab, NU
Sara Mignin, OSU
Fatima Balza, PSU
Jaclyn Hart, PUR
Janelle Gabrielsen, WIS