Iowa Plays Missouri in the Insight Bowl

Dec. 5, 2010

Go Bowling with the Hawkeyes!

As always, friends of the University of Iowa and fans of the Iowa Hawkeyes are invited to follow the Hawkeyes to the Valley of the Sun for their game against the Missouri Tigers in the 2010 Insight Bowl.

  • For information about the UI Alumni Association’s official bowl tours, click HERE.
  • For information about the official bowl tours offered by Winebrenner Red Carpet Travel click HERE.

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The bowl fate for the University of Iowa has been made official after days of speculation about where and against whom. The Hawkeyes (7-5 overall) will play Missouri (10-2) in the Insight Bowl on Tuesday, Dec. 28, in Tempe, Ariz., with a 9 p.m. start (CT). The game will be played in Sun Devil Stadium (56,000) on the Arizona State campus and televised nationally by ESPN (HD).

Iowa tied for fourth place in the Big Ten Conference with a 4-4 record; the Tigers shared the best record in the Big 12 North Division with Nebraska at 6-2 and defeated Big 12 champion Oklahoma, 36-27, on Oct. 23. Missouri finished the regular season ranked 14th in the Associated Press and USA Today/Coaches polls.

Iowa will play in a postseason bowl game for the third consecutive season after winning the 2010 Orange Bowl (24-14 against Georgia Tech) and the 2009 Outback Bowl (31-10 against South Carolina). The Hawkeyes have a 5-3 record in bowl games under head coach Kirk Ferentz. Iowa has been bowl-eligible the last 10 years; overall, the Hawkeyes will be playing in their 25th bowl game (13-10-1 record).

It is the first time Iowa has ever played a bowl game in the state of Arizona. Missouri defeated West Virginia, 34-31, in the 1998 Insight Bowl. The Tigers have a 12-15 record in bowl games, losing most recently to Navy, 35-13, in the 2009 Texas Bowl. In 2008, they went overtime in the Alamo Bowl and knocked off Northwestern, 30-23.

The Iowa and Missouri campuses are approximately 250 miles apart, yet the teams have not competed against one another in football since 1910 (a 5-0 win by the Tigers in Columbia). Iowa’s last win against Missouri was 21-6 in 1907 in Iowa City. Missouri leads the all-time series, 7-5.

This will mark the second time Iowa has played in Sun Devil Stadium. The Hawkeyes played Arizona State in Tempe on Sept. 18, 2004, falling to the Sun Devils, 44-7.

Iowa has a 3-1 bowl record against schools currently in the Big 12. The Hawkeyes defeated Texas, 55-17, in the 1984 Freedom Bowl; Texas Tech, 27-0, in the 1996 Alamo Bowl; and Texas Tech, 19-16, in the 2001 Alamo Bowl. They dropped a 26-24 thriller to Texas in the 2006 Alamo Bowl.

Last season the Insight Bowl was played on New Year’s Eve and Iowa State edged Minnesota, 14-13.

The Iowa Athletics Ticket Office is accepting ticket orders for the Hawkeyes in the Insight Bowl. As in the past, fans of the Hawkeyes purchasing their bowl game tickets through the UI Athletics Ticket Office will help the UI Athletics Department meet its financial obligation to the bowl game and are guaranteed seat locations that are part of the official University of Iowa section of the stadium.

The ticket office began accepting orders via its online ticket window at Nov. 24. To place an order online, fans need their account number and PIN. Fans can also purchase bowl tickets through the UI Athletics Ticket Office over the phone by calling 1-800 IA-HAWKS or (319) 335-9323.

Fans can also place an order in person by printing an application at home and by delivering it to the UI Athletics Ticket Office location at the west entrance of Carver-Hawkeye Arena or by faxing it to the UI Athletics Ticket Office. The phone number to use when faxing a bowl game ticket order is included on the ticket application. You will find a print-at-home version of the bowl game ticket application in several locations on


Year Bowl Result
2010 Orange Iowa 24, Georgia Tech 14
2009 Outback Iowa 31, South Carolina 10
2006 Alamo Texas 26, Iowa 24
2006 Outback Florida 31, Iowa 24
2005 Capital One Iowa 30, LSU 25
2004 Outback Iowa 37, Florida 17
2003 Orange Southern Cal 38, Iowa 17
2001 Alamo Iowa 19, Texas Tech 16
1997 Sun Arizona State 17, Iowa 7
1996 Alamo Iowa 27, Texas Tech 0
1995 Sun Iowa 38, Washington 18
1993 Alamo California 37, Iowa 3
1991 Holiday Iowa 13, Brigham Young 13
1991 Rose Washington 46, Iowa 34
1988 Peach N.C. State 28, Iowa 23
1987 Holiday Iowa 20, Wyoming 19
1986 Holiday Iowa 39, San Diego State 38
1986 Rose UCLA 45, Iowa 28
1984 Freedom Iowa 55, Texas 17
1983 Gator Florida 14, Iowa 6
1982 Peach Iowa 28, Tennessee 22
1982 Rose Washington 28, Iowa 0
1959 Rose Iowa 38, California 12
1957 Rose Iowa 35, Oregon State 19