Stanzi One of Five Finalists for Premier Player Award

Dec. 9, 2010

TAMPA, Fla. – – University of Iowa senior quarterback Ricky Stanzi is one of five finalists for the 2010 Premier Player of College Football Award. The announcement was made by NFL Hall of Famer Lee Roy Selman and Carnell Moore, founder of the Premier Players organization.

The Premier Player Award is presented to the college football player who receives the most fan votes. The list of five finalists was reduced from an original list of 25 top collegiate players. Fan voting will now continue until Jan. 14. The winner will be announced the following evening at the inaugural Premier Player of College Football Charitable Awards dinner in Tampa, Fla.

Joining Stanzi as finalists for the award are Michigan QB Denard Robinson, Washington QB Jake Locker, Oregon RB LaMichael James and Arkansas QB Ryan Mallett.

Fans can place their votes at the Premier Player of College Football website, (

Stanzi (6-4, 230) is a native of Mentor, Ohio. He started every game for the Hawkeyes in 2010, completing 210-324 passes for 2,804 yards and 25 touchdowns, with just four interceptions. He had three touchdown passes in five games.

His career totals include 531-886 for 7,177 yards and 56 touchdowns. He is third in career touchdowns, yards and total offense (7,164) and fourth in completions and attempts at Iowa.

Stanzi ranks second in the Big Ten and 11th nationally in passing efficiency (160.5) in 2010. He is on pace to establish a single-season record for pass efficiency and has set an Iowa record with a touchdown pass in 21 consecutive games. He has a 25-9 record as Iowa’s starting quarterback over the last three seasons.

Stanzi is also one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and he was a semifinal candidate for both the Maxwell and Davey O’Brien awards.

Stanzi and the Hawkeyes will conclude the 2010 season by participating in the Insight Bowl Dec. 28 against 14th-ranked Missouri, Iowa’s seventh ranked opponent of the year. ESPN will telecast the Insight Bowl (9 p.m. CT).