Hawkeyes Finish Record-Setting Day at Big Ten Championships

Feb. 18, 2011

Complete Results in PDF Format

BLOOMINGTON, Ind.– The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team competed at the third day of the Big Ten Championships held on the Indiana University campus. The women’s team posted three new school records Friday and is currently in eighth-place with 133 points.

Opening the night’s events with the 400 medley relay, the Hawkeye women touched the wall in eighth-place with a school record-setting time of 3:41.87. The quartet of Daniela Cubelic, Katarina Tour, Aiste Dobrovolskaie and Emily Hovren broke the previous record of 3:43.42, which was set in 2002. Cubelic led off the relay with the 100 back leg and set a new school in the event with a time of 54.32. Iowa’s Jennifer Skolaski set the previous record in 2003 with a time of 54.34

After breaking the school record on the 1-meter springboard Thursday night, senior diver Deidre Freeman returned to the boards Friday night to set another school record on the 3-meter springboard. Freeman scored a record-setting score of 407.70. The previous record was set in 2003 by all-American and Olympian diver Nancilea Underwood with a score of 400.05. Freeman and three other divers in the event all had scores that broke the previous meet record of 400.75.

Junior diver Veronica Rydze placed seventh on the 3-meter springboard with a collegiate best score of 358.45.

“I’m proud of how the team competed tonight,” said Head Coach Marc Long. “It was Great night for the Hawkeyes with Freeman and Rydze leading the way in finals on the boards and Freeman setting a new school record. Cubelic also broke a school record in the 100 back leading off the recording setting 400 medley relay.”

Tour recorded a 14th place finish in the 100 breast. She touched the wall with a time of 1:02.25. Following the 100 breast, Cubelic placed 13th in the 100 back with a time of 54.69.

For the second season in a row, senior Caitlin Polz was honored with the Sportsmanship Award for the Iowa team. The award is given to those who have demonstrated the ideals of sportsmanship, which are fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect and responsibility.

Iowa will finish up competition at the Big Ten Championships tomorrow with prelims beginning at 10 a.m. (CT) and finals kicking off at 6:30 p.m. (CT).