Bob Rydze Named Diving Coach of the Year

Feb. 19, 2011

Saturday Results in PDF Format


BLOOMINGTON, Ind.–The University of Iowa women’s swimming and diving team concluded the 2011 Big Ten Championships Saturday night. Head diving coach Bob Rydze was named Diving Coach of the Year. After four days of competition the Hawkeyes set four new school records and placed ninth with 151 points.

Host Indiana University claimed the title of Big Ten Champions. The Hoosiers finished on top with 821 points. Indiana is the first school to win three straight Big Ten titles since Michigan had a string of 12-straight victories from 1987-98. Minnesota took second-place (578) and Ohio State finished in third (456).

Head Diving Coach Bod Rydze was named Big Ten Diving Coach of the Year. Rydze is in his 36th year as diving coach of the Hawkeye men and women’s teams. During his tenure with the Hawkeyes, Rydze has coached 31 All-American’s, nine Big Ten Championships and one NCAA Champion.

Under Rydze’s coaching, senior diver Deidre Freeman set two school records in the 1-meter (338.55) and 3-meter (407.40) springboards at the Championships. Freeman was named second team All-Big Ten. Diver Lauren Kelba was Iowa’s only diver to compete in the Platform event Saturday night. Kelba placed 22nd with a score of 213.05.

Iowa swimmers kicked off the last day of competition with the 1,650 free. Sophomore Lauren Eytalis placed 26th with a time of 17:13.12, while senior Christine Mauro finished 27th at 17:15.64.

Senior Katarina Tour was Iowa’s highest-place finisher of the day. Tour advanced to the finals in the 100 free and placed 24th with a time of 51.11.

The Hawkeyes wrapped up the competition with the 400 free relay. Emily Hovren, Daniela Cubelic, Katarina Tour and Caitie Polz teamed up for the event. The team placed ninth and touched the wall at 3:22.73. The quartet’s time ranks third on Iowa’s all-time top performers list.