Hawkeyes Swim For Big Ten Title

Feb. 21, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format

The Iowa men’s swimming and diving team competes in the Big Ten Championships Wednesday-Saturday at Minneapolis, Minn. All events will be held at the University Aquatic Center on the University of Minnesota campus. Event prelims are scheduled to start at 11 a.m. (CT) each day, while event finals are set to begin at 6:30 p.m. (CT) each evening.

All-session tickets are $40 for adults and $25 for students (age 3-college). Single-session tickets are $8 for adults and $5 for students. Tickets are available through ticket master at 1-800-745-3000.

A portion of the three-day event will air March 6 at 9 a.m. (CT) on the Big Ten Network.

Fans unable to make the trip to Minneapolis, Minn. can visit hawkeyesports.com to view live results throughout the Big Ten Championships. A live results link is available on the men’s swimming and diving schedule page. Fans can also access full coverage of the Big Ten Championships on the Official Championships page.

The Hawkeyes placed sixth with 223 points at the 2010 Big Ten Championships in Columbus, Ohio. Iowa’s sixth-place performance was its best Big Ten Championship finish since the 1996 team placed fifth. During the four days of competition, the Hawkeyes broke six school records. The 800 free relay consisting of Jordan Huff, Paul Gordon, Duncan Partridge and Brian Farris set the record with a time of 6:27.66. Sean Hagan set the school record in the 200 IM (1:47.73), while Byron Butler set a new mark in the 200 back (1:45.30). The quartet of Max Ditmmer, Ryan Phelan, Gordon, and Hagan recorded a new pool record in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:29.02, while the 400 medley relay team of Dittmer, Matt Ryan, Gordon and Partridge posted a time of 3:15.37 to break the school record. Lastly, diver Mike Gilligan set a new school record in the platform (335.45).

The University of Iowa’s men’s swimming and diving team is currently ranked 25th in the TYR/CSCAA Men’s Division I poll. The Hawkeyes entered the polls ranked 22nd on Dec. 16 after a fast start to the season. The Hawkeyes currently have a record of 7-1 overall, 3-1 in the Big Ten. Iowa is one of six Big Ten teams ranked in the top 25. The others include Michigan (9), Ohio State (11), Indiana (14), Minnesota (15), and Purdue (20). Iowa was last ranked 22nd in the country following the team’s 156-142 victory over 20th-ranked BYU in the 2003-04 season. The Hawkeyes ended the 2004 season 8-4 overall and tied for 28th in the NCAA Championships.

Since 2008-09, the men’s swimming and diving team has complied 27-4 dual meet record. That mark includes a 10-1 record in 2009-10, which is the program’s best record since finishing 13-1 and placing second at the Big Ten Championships in 1987.

Iowa has won three Big Ten team titles in school history (1936, 1981, 1982), and crowned 104 individual conference champions (76 in individual events, 20 in relays and eight in diving). Three Hawkeyes have earned Swimmer of the Championships honors – Artur Wojdat (1991, 1992), Rafal Szukala (1994) and Ales Abersek (2000). Wojdat was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Year three times (1990, 1991, 1992), while former Hawkeye John Davey earned the honor twice (1987, 1988). Diving coach Bob Rydze has been named conference diving coach of the year three times (1985, 1986 and 1995). Two Hawkeye divers top the list of all-time Big Ten top performers. Timo Klami scored a 625.60 on one-meter (11 dives) in 2003, while Randy Abelman posted a 448.20 on three-meter (6 dives) in 1981. Iowa won its last Big Ten individual swimming titles in 2000 when Ales Abersek took the 100 (47.68) and 200 fly (1:44.93) crowns and Jay Glenn won the 200 free (1:36.84). Iowa’s last Big Ten diving champion was Timo Klami on three-meter (596.40) in 2003. Iowa’s last Big Ten relay champion was the 200 free relay of Krzystzof Cwalina, Tim Schnulle, Jim Mulligan and Rafal Szukala (1:19.69) in 1995.

Marc Long is in his seventh season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming program. It’s his sixth year as head coach of the combined programs. During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 26 school records have fallen and 70 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships. Under Long, the men’s team has a 33-19 record, while the women’s squad has a 44-38 mark. As a Hawkeye swimmer (1987-89), Long was a multiple NCAA finalist, six-time All-American and three-time Big Ten champion, winning two conference titles in the 100 fly and one as part of the 400 free relay. He was voted a team captain in 1989 and helped lead the Hawkeyes to a Big Ten runner-up finish, and their highest team placing (eighth) in modern day history at the NCAA Championships. Long swam on Iowa’s Big Ten and NCAA record setting 200 free relay that year.

Frannie Malone (Iowa, 2000) was named to the position of associate head coach Oct. 11. Malone had served as an assistant coach and recruiting coordinator since joining the Hawkeye coaching staff in 2004. Long is assisted by Kirk Hampleman (Auburn, 2002), and Nathan Mundt (Iowa, 2000).

Bob Rydze is in his 36th year as diving coach of the Hawkeye men and women’s teams. During his tenure with the Hawkeyes, Rydze has coached 31 All-Americans, nine Big Ten and one NCAA Champion. Rydze served as Team Leader for USA Diving at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China.

Since 1917, the University of Iowa swimming and diving program has been rich in tradition. Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level, and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions. In its 93-year history, the Iowa men’s team has produced 17 Olympians, 26 NCAA champions and 382 All-Americans.

The Hawkeyes opened the 2010-11 season in their new Campus Recreation and Wellness Center pool, which opened in August 2010. Ground was broken for the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in October, 2007. The facility is located at the corner of Burlington and Madison streets and estimated to have cost $69 million.