Hawkeyes End Big Ten Championships with 3 More School Records

Feb. 26, 2011

Photo Gallery | Saturday Results | Final Results

MINNEAPOLIS — The University of Iowa men’s swimming team wrapped-up competition at the 2011 Big Ten Championships Saturday night. Over the four days of competition the Hawkeyes set school records in all five relays and three individual events. The Hawkeyes finished in seventh-place overall with 228.5 points.

To being the last day of competition, Manuel Belzer posted an 11th place finish in the 1,650-free. Belzer earned a collegiate best time of 15:17.76, which also marks a NCAA `B’ cut. His time ranks sixth on Iowa’s all-time top performers list.

Byron Butler took seventh-place in the 200-back with a time of 1:45.25. At the prelims session Saturday morning, Butler posted a time of 1:44.87 in the event, which broke his previous school record of 1:45.30 set at the 2010 Big Ten Championships. Max Dittmer finished 12th in the event with a time of 1:46.12. Dittmer’s prelims time of 1:46.08 marks a collegiate best.

Following Butler’s record-setting 200-back, Paul Gordon went on to set another school record for the Hawkeyes in the 100-free. Gordon recorded a school record with a time of 43.52, placing fifth. The previous record was set in 1994 by former Hawkeye Krzysztof Cwalina (43.84). Teammate Duncan Partridge broke the school record before Gordon at prelims with a time of 43.64, he went on to place eighth at finals (43.83).

Iowa’s two swimmers in the 200-fly both posted collegiate best times. Tyler Lentz and Brian Tremml finished 21st and 22nd with times of 1:49.45 and 1:49.70, respectively. Sean Hagen, Andrew Marciniak and Kyle Noser finished 17th (1:59.99), 18th (2:00.10) and 23rd (2:04.75) in the 200-breast, respectively.

The Hawkeyes concluded the four-day championships by collecting their fifth relay record-setting time in the 400-free relay. The quartet of Partridge, Ryan Phelan, Jordan Huff and Gordon recorded a fourth-place finish with a time of 2:53.50. The previous school record was set in 1994 with a time of 2:54.43. Gordon’s split of 42.29 in the last leg of the relay was the fastest spilt of all swimmers at the meet who competed in the relay event.

Phelan earned second team All-Big Ten for his second-place finish in the 50 free (19.75). Dittmer received the sportsmanship award for the Hawkeyes, which is given out to one member of each team who demonstrated the ideals of sportsmanship, which are fairness, civility, honesty, unselfishness, respect and responsibility.

The Hawkeyes will bring eight school records back to Iowa City after concluding a successful 2011 Big Ten Championships. Iowa collected its 228.5 points without divers Arsen Sarkisian and Osvel Molina who did not make the trip to Minneapolis with the team.