10 Hawkeyes Earn All-America Honors

March 14, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Ten members of the University of Iowa track and field program have earned USTFCCCA All-America honors following last weekend’s NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships. The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced the All-America teams Monday.

Six Hawkeye men earned first team honors, including junior Erik Sowinski, who earned two All-America honors following fourth place finishes in the 800 meters and 1,600-meter relay. Other first team honorees include senior Steven Willey, sophomores Justin Austin, Ethan Holmes, and Jeff Thode and juniors Troy Doris and Patrick Richards.

Senior Bethany Praska earned first team All-America honors following her school-record setting performance in the 800 meters. Praska placed seventh in the finals after breaking her own school record in the preliminary round.

Sophomore Jordan Mullen and junior McKenzie Melander earned second team accolades. Mullen finished ninth in the 60-meter hurdles preliminary round, missing the finals heat by 0.01 seconds. Melander placed 15th in the Women’s 1-Mile Run.

First team honors were given to those who placed in the championships’ top eight or were a member of an eight-person final. Second team laurels were handed out to those who earned final classifications between ninth and 16th place.

Hawkeye First Team All-Americans
200m Dash Justin Austin
Triple Jump Troy Doris
4x400m Relay Ethan Holmes
800m Run Bethany Praska
4x400m Relay Patrick Richards
800m Run Erik Sowinski
4x400m Relay Erik Sowinski
Mile Run Jeff Thode
4x400m Relay Steven Willey

Hawkeye Second Team All-Americans
60m Hurdles Jordan Mullen
Mile Run McKenzie Melander