Alexander Named Finalist For Premier Players Award

March 16, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior guard Kachine Alexander is one of five NCAA Division I women’s basketball players selected as a finalist for the first annual Premier Player of College Basketball Award. The award is based strictly on fan voting.

Alexander’s named appeared on the original Premier Players ballot in November. She was among the top five student-athletes in fan voting during the season, making her one of five finalists. The other finalists include Chastity Reed (Arkansas Little Rock), Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Jasmine Thomas (Duke) and Maya Moore (Connecticut). The men’s finalists include Harrison Barnes (North Carolina), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State), Jimmer Fredette (BYU), Kyle Singler (Duke) and Nolan Smith (Duke).

The five finalists are now placed in a new poll so fans can vote for the winner of the 2011 Premier Player of College Basketball Award. Fans have until April 4 to cast their vote. The trophy will be presented April 16 in Charlotte, N.C., prior to the Jordan Brand Classic Basketball Tournament at Time Warner Arena. Proceeds from the event will benefit local charities.

Fans can vote for Alexander by clicking HERE.

Alexander is Iowa’s second finalist this year for a Premier Player Award. Ricky Stanzi was a finalist for the first-ever Premier Player of College Football Award, won by Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett.

Earlier this year, Alexander was named first team all-Big Ten and was one of six players selected to the Big ten all-Defensive team. The Minneapolis, Minn., native was also named to the Midseason Top 20 list for the Wooden Trophy, the Top 30 Midseason list for the Naismith Award and is currently on the Wade Trophy Watch List. Alexander is the top rebounding guard in the country at 9.5 rebounds per contest, and is Iowa’s second leading scorer at 14.3 points per game.

Alexander and the Hawkeyes are a No. 6 seed in the NCAA Tournament, and will face No. 11 seed Gonzaga Saturday at 3 p.m. (CT) in Spokane, Wash.