Gordon Earns MVP Honor

April 18, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa – The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team celebrated the end of the season at the team’s awards banquet Saturday April 16. Swimmers, divers, alumni, parents and supporters recognized the 2010-11 team at the Coralville Marriot.

Sophomore Paul Gordon was named the Armbruster/Patton MVP award for the men’s team for the second straight season. Gordon set the school record in the 100 free (43.51) at the 2011 NCAA Championships. He also led the team in the 200 free with a time of 1:34.85 and was a member of all five relays that set school records at the Big Ten Championships. Gordon also earned the Wally Ris Memorial Award for his efforts this season.

Freshman Osvel Molina earned the “Lobby” Lobdell men’s diving MVP Award. He led the team in the one (330.85) and three-meter (322.90) springboards.

Hawkeye senior Max Dittmer earned the Strength and Conditioning Award. A four-year letterwinner, his best time in the 100 back (48.75), 200 back (1:46.08) and 200 IM (1:49.10) rank second, second and fourth, respectively, on Iowa’s all-time best performers list.

Dittmer also received the Jim Marshall Award, along with senior teammate Sean Hagan, which is annually presented to the senior who has contributed the best of his athletic ability. Hagan is a four-year letterrwinner and his 100 breast (54.93), 200 breast (1:59.88) and 200 IM (1:47.73) rank fourth, fourth and second, respectively, in school history.

Senior Bryan Hill earned the Irving B. Weber Leadership Award to round out the awards for the men’s team. The four-year letterwinner posted a collegiate best time in the 100 back (50.55) at the 2011 Big Ten Championships.

2010-11 Men’s Swimming and Diving Awards
Armbruster/Patton MVP Award: Paul Gordon
“Lobby” Lobdell Award: Osvel Molina
Irving B. Weber Award: Bryan Hill
Strength and Conditioning Award: Max Dittmer
Jim Marshall Award: Max Dittmer and Sean Hagan
Wally Ris Memorial Award: Paul Gordon