Clayborn Selected by Tampa Bay

April 28, 2011

Clayborn Drafted in the First Round

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa defensive end Adrian Clayborn was selected by Tampa Bay with the 20th pick of the first round of the NFL Draft on Thursday.

The Hawkeyes have had five Kirk Ferentz-coached players chosen in the first round since 2003.

Clayborn, a consensus All-American, registered 52 tackles last season, including seven for a loss. He had six quarterback hurries and 3 ½ sacks. Clayborn is the first Hawkeye defensive lineman drafted since Kenny Iwebema was taken by the Arizona Cardinals in the fourth round of the 2008 draft.

“It was a long wait but I’m glad they picked me,” Clayborn said. “I can’t wait to be a Buc.”

Tampa Bay finished 10-6 last season, placing third in the NFC South. The Buccaneers were 17th in the NFL in total defense (332.7 yards per game), 23rd in sacks (30) and 28th against the run (131.7 yards per game).

With Clayborn on the field from 2007-10, the Hawkeyes compiled a record of 34-17 with victories in the Outback, Orange and Insight bowls in three consecutive seasons. Iowa was fifth in scoring defense in 2008 (13 points per game), sixth in rushing defense in 2010 (101.54 yards per game) and 10th in total defense in 2009 (276.54 yards per game). The Hawkeyes finished in the NCAA top 10 six times in various defensive categories since 2008.

The 6-foot-4, 285-pound Clayborn is a native of St. Louis. During his career, he made 192 tackles with 8 ½ sacks.

Clayborn is the 40th Ferentz-coached Hawkeye (and 18th defensive player) to be drafted. Last season a record six Iowa players were drafted, led by first-rounder Bryan Bulaga, who started on the offensive line for the Super Bowl champion Green Bay Packers.

2011 NFL Draft
Round 1 Adrian Clayborn Tampa Bay Defensive end
2010 NFL Draft
Round 1 Bryan Bulaga Green Bay Offensive line
Round 2 Pat Angerer Indianapolis Linebacker
Round 3 Amari Spievey Detroit Defensive back
Round 3 Tony Moeaki Kansas City Tight end
Round 4 A.J. Edds Miami Linebacker
Round 7 Kyle Calloway Buffalo Offensive line
2009 NFL Draft
Round 3 Shonn Greene New York Jets Running back
Round 3 Bradley Fletcher St. Louis Defensive back
Round 4 Seth Olsen Denver Offensive line
Round 6 Brandon Myers Oakland Tight end
2008 NFL Draft
Round 3 Charles Godfrey Carolina Defensive back
Round 4 Kenny Iwebema Arizona Defensive end
Round 6 Mike Humpal Pittsburgh Linebacker
2007 NFL Draft
Round 3 Marshal Yanda Baltimore Offensive line
Round 4 Scott Chandler San Diego Tight end
Round 7 Mike Elgin New England Offensive line
2006 NFL Draft
Round 1 Chad Greenway Minnesota Linebacker
Round 3 Abdul Hodge Green Bay Linebacker
2005 NFL Draft
Round 2 Matt Roth Miami Defensive end
Round 2 Jonathan Babineaux Atlanta Defensive line
Round 4 Sean Considine Philadelphia Defensive back
Round 6 Tony Jackson Seattle Tight end
Round 6 Pete McMahon Oakland Offensive line
2004 NFL Draft
Round 1 Robert Gallery Oakland Offensive line
Round 2 Bob Sanders Indianapolis Defensive back
Round 3 Nate Kaeding San Diego Place kicker
Round 7 Jared Clauss Tennessee Defensive line
Round 7 Erik Jensen St. Louis Tight end
2003 NFL Draft
Round 1 Dallas Clark Indianapolis Tight end
Round 2 Eric Steinbach Cincinnati Offensive line
Round 2 Bruce Nelson Carolina Center
Round 5 Derek Pagel New York Jets Defensive back
Round 5 Ben Sobieski Buffalo Offensive line
2002 NFL Draft
Round 2 Ladell Betts Washington Running back
Round 5 Aaron Kampman Green Bay Defensive line
Round 6 Kahlil Hill Atlanta Wide receiver
2001 NFL Draft
Round 6 Kevin Kasper Denver Wide receiver
2000 NFL Draft
Round 5 Austin Wheatley New Orleans Tight end
Round 6 Matt Bowen St. Louis Defensive back