5 Hawkeyes Named To Watch Lists

July 5, 2011

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Five members of the University of Iowa football team have been honored by being put on preseason award watch lists. Sophomore running back Marcus Coker was named to the Maxwell Award list. Senior defensive back Shaun Prater was named to the Bednarik Award watch list. In addition, senior wide receiver Marvin McNutt Jr., senior defensive lineman Mike Daniels, junior defensive back Micah Hyde and Prater were named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) watch lists at their respective positions.

Sophomore kicker Mike Meyer was named to the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) Watch List as both a placekicker and kickoff specialist earlier this summer. Former Hawkeye All-American Adrian Clayborn was named national Defensive Performer of the Year by the CFPA in 2009.

The Maxwell Award is given annually to America’s outstanding collegiate football player and the Bednarik Award is presented each year to the nation’s top defensive player.

Coker, who hails from Beltsville, Md., was named to Phil Steele’s Preseason All-Big Ten third team earlier this summer. As a freshman in 2010, he accumulated 622 yards and three touchdowns on 114 carries. Coker was named the Offensive Player of the Game in Iowa’s 27-24 Insight Bowl win over Missouri. He set Iowa bowl records for rushing attempts (33) and rushing yards (219).

Prater, an Omaha, Neb., native, was honored by Lindy’s and Athlon Sports as a second team All-American and an honorable mention preseason All-American by Consensus Draft Services (CDS). The defensive back was also named preseason first team All-Big Ten by Lindy’s, Athlon Sports and Phil Steele. Prater (5-11, 180) intercepted four passes in 2010 and was a first team All-Big Ten selection by league coaches and media.

McNutt, Jr., a 6-4 wide receiver from St. Louis, was previously named to Phil Steele’s Preseason All-America team. He started all 13 games last year en route to second team All-Big Ten honors. McNutt, Jr. led Iowa in receptions (53) and yards (861) and was second in touchdown receptions (eight). He has accumulated 16 career receiving touchdowns, tying him for the fourth-most in Iowa history.

In addition to being named to the Pony Express Award watch list with teammate Broderick Binns, Daniels was an honorable mention CDS Preseason All-American and a third team All-Big Ten selection by Phil Steele. Hailing from Blackwood, N.J., he appeared in all 13 games for the Black and Gold in 2010, making eight starts at defensive tackle. Daniels (6-1, 275) garnered honorable mention honors by league coaches and media in 2010 after recording 11 tackles for loss and four sacks.

Hyde was named second team preseason All-Big Ten by Phil Steele and third team preseason All-Big Ten by Athlon Sports in June. The Fostoria, Ohio, native started all 13 games and was named honorable mention All-Big Ten by league media in 2010. He was named Defensive Player of the Game in Iowa’s Insight Bowl win over Missouri after scoring the game-winner on a 72-yard interception return.

Iowa is scheduled to open its 2011 season against Tennessee Tech Sept. 3 at Kinnick Stadium. Kickoff is set for 11 a.m. CT (BTN HD).