2011 Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame Class Honors 6

Aug. 16, 2011

IOWA CITY, IA – The National Iowa Varsity Club and the University of Iowa Athletic Department will be inducting six individuals into the Athletics Hall of Fame as part of their 23rd Hall of Fame Class. Five former University of Iowa student-athletes and one former coach will be inducted into the National Iowa Varsity Club Athletics Hall of Fame on September 3, 2011 (Iowa versus Tennessee Tech football game day). The Varsity Club will also be presenting the Letterwinner of the Year Award and welcoming two Honorary Letterwinners.

Keith McCanless (Gymnastics 1967-69), Sherwyn Thorson (Football 1959-61, Wrestling 1960,62), Tim Dwight (Football 1994-97, Track and Field 1996-99), Mary Koboldt (Field Hockey 1982-85), Joe Williams (Wrestling 1994, 96-98) and Duane Banks (Baseball Coach 1970-97) represent Iowa’s newest group of Hall of Fame inductees.

These six inductees were selected by a vote of all dues-paying members of the National Iowa Varsity Club. All former Hawkeye athletes who have won at least one major letter are eligible for the Iowa Athletics Hall of Fame. Athletes must have completed their eligibility at least ten years and coaches/administrators at least five years prior to their selection.

Lynn Mawe (Golf 1983-86) and Dave Triplett (Football 1970-71) will be presented with Letterwinner of the Year Awards. The Varsity Club will be welcoming Pat Baird and Gary Hughes as Honorary Letterwinners.

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony banquet/dinner will be held on September 3, 2011 in the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center – Coral Ballroom at 6:30 p.m., preceded by a reception at 5:30 p.m. The Induction banquet/dinner is open to the public. Tickets may be purchased for $35 by sending your name and check to the National Iowa Varsity Club, ATTN: HoF Banquet, University of Iowa, 340 CHA, Iowa City, IA, 52242 by Friday, August 26th. For more information please call the Varsity Club office at (319) 335-9438.