Hawkeyes Set for Road Debut

Oct. 17, 2011

Complete Release

THIS WEEK The University Iowa men and women’s swimming and diving team will travel to Madison, Wis., on Thursday to take on the Wisconsin Badgers. The meet will take place at the University of Wisconsin Natatorium beginning at 5 p.m.

SCOUTING THE OPPONENT The Wisconsin swimming and diving teams opened their 2011-12 season against Milwaukee Oct. 7. The Badger defeated the Panthers 175-116, while the men lost 149-145 after being touched out by the Panthers in the last event.

The Badger women finished sixth at the Big Ten Championships with 384.5 points. The team had six swimmers named to the first team All-Big Ten and two named to the second team All-Big Ten. The team ended the season ranked 17th overall in the NCAA.

The Wisconsin men finished eighth (217) at the Big Ten Championships, two places behind the Hawkeyes. Daniel Lester, who was Wisconsin’s only swimmer named second team All-Big Ten, was named the Big Ten’s first Swimmer of the Week for the 2011-12 season for his efforts against Milwaukee .

DOWNING RECORDS Freshman Becky Stoughton set three school records in her college debut. She posted her first record in the 1,000 free with a time of 9:59.02, which ranks fourth in Iowa history. Stoughton’s next two records came in the 200 free (1:50.51) and 500 free (4:53.42), times that rank ninth and fourth, respectively, in school history.

Last season’s Big Ten runner-up in the 50 free, Ryan Phelan, set a pool record in the event with a time of 20.20.

RETURNING ALL-AMERICANS The men’s squad returns all four members of the 400 free relay that earned All-America honors at the 2011 NCAA Championships. Paul Gordon, Jordan Huff, Duncan Partridge and Ryan Phelan placed 15th (2:54.82) in the relay to earn All-America accolades.

The women’s squad returns All-America diver Veronica Rydze. She earned the accolade after finishing 13th on the one-meter board (296.35) at the NCAA Championships.

DUAL MEET DOMINATION Since 2008-09, the men’s swimming and diving team has complied 27-4 dual meet record. That mark includes a 10-1 record in 2009-10, which is the program’s best record since finishing 13-1 and placing second at the Big Ten Championships in 1987.

LAST EVENT The Hawkeyes kicked off the 2011-12 Oct. 8 when it hosted the annual Black and Gold Intrasquad meet at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center pool. The gold team won the title, winning 108-91.

NEXT EVENT The Iowa men and women’s swimming team will return home Oct. 29 to host Michigan State. The competition will begin at 11 a.m.

HEAD COACH Marc Long Marc Long is in his eighth season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming team. It’s his seventh as head coach of the combined program. During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 36 school records have fallen and 74 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships.

DIVING COACH Bob Rydze Bob Rydze is in his 37th year as diving coach of the men and women’s teams at the University of Iowa. Rydze served as Team Leader for USA Diving at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. During his tenure with the Hawkeyes, Rydze has coached 33 All-Americans, nine Big Ten and one NCAA Champion.

CAMPUS RECREATION AND WELLNESS CENTER Ground was broken for the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in October 2007. The facility opened in August 2010 and is home for the Hawkeyes. It is located at the corner of Burlington and Madison streets and cost approximately $69 million. The facility includes a 50-meter competition pool, a separate diving well, a leisure pool with lap lanes and 24,000 square feet of fitness space.

IOWA SWIMMING HISTORY & TRADITION Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions.

CAPTAINS COUNCIL Six student-athletes have been named to the 2011-12 Captains’ Council. Ryan Phelan, Jordan Huff and Kyle Noser will captain the men’s squad, while Daniela Cubelic, Danielle Carty and Haley Gordon will captain the women’s squad. The Captains’ Council was voted on by their peers and coaches.