Iowa Hosts Minnesota on Friday Night

Oct. 31, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format

The University Iowa men’s swimming and diving team will host the Minnesota Golden Gophers on Friday at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Pool. The meet is set to begin at 5p.m. The meet is Iowa’s “Black Out” meet, so fans attending the event are encouraged to wear black.

For live results from your computer or smart phone, visit: . Free WiFi is available at the CRWC for all students and faculty.

Fans can enter a chance to win two tickets to the Iowa vs. Michigan State football game Nov. 12 at Kinnick Stadium. Be sure to enter to win at the marketing table located in the pool gallery. The first 100 spectators will also receive a free Iowa swimming and diving t-shirt.

Hawkeye fans can also pick up 2011-12 swimming and diving posters, calendar cards, stickers and bumper stickers from the marketing table located in the pool gallery at the main entrance.

Become fans of the official Iowa swimming and diving page by going to to follow the Hawkeyes on Facebook. Fans can also follow the black and gold on Twitter at!/IowaHawkeyeSwim.

The Gopher men opened their season and Big Ten action with a 183-105 victory over Wisconsin to move to 1-0 on the season. The team won 13 of 16 events and posted either NCAA automatic or provisional qualifying times in 12 of the events.

Minnesota finished fourth at the 2011 Big Ten Championships tallying 505.5 points, while Iowa placed seventh with 228.5 points.

The Gophers hosted the 2011 NCAA Championships and placed 15th as a team with 91 points, extending its streak of 20 consecutive seasons with a top 15 finish. Ten swimmers represented Minnesota at the meet and all 10 athletes earned All-America honors.

Dennis Dale enters his 27th year as the head coach at the University of Minnesota. He has five Big Ten titles over the last 10 years and seven in the last 14, 20 consecutive top-15 finishes at the NCAA Championship, 22 straight top-three finishes at the Big Ten Championships and over 100 different All-Americans.

Kelly Kremer has been with the team for 13 seasons and oversees the Minnesota men and women’s swimming and diving programs.

Last season’s Big Ten runner-up in the 50 free, Ryan Phelan, set a pool record in the event with a time of 20.27 at Wisconsin’s Natatorium. The previous record was held by former Hawkeye and Big Ten champion, Tom Williams, which was set in 1988.

Phelan set a pool record in the event (20.20) at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Pool on Oct. 8 at Iowa’s annual black and gold intrasquad meet. He tied this record in the event Oct. 29 at Iowa’s meet against Michigan State.

The men’s squad returns all four members of the 400 free relay that earned All-America honors at the 2011 NCAA Championships. Paul Gordon, Jordan Huff, Duncan Partridge and Ryan Phelan placed 15th (2:54.82) in the relay to earn All-America accolades.

Since 2008-09, the men’s swimming and diving team has complied 29-4 dual meet record. That mark includes a 10-1 record in 2009-10, which is the program’s best record since finishing 13-1 and placing second at the Big Ten Championships in 1987.

The Hawkeyes dominated Michigan State in their Big Ten home opener Oct.29 at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center pool. Iowa beat the Spartans, 202-91.

The Iowa will return home Nov. 18 to host Purdue and Ohio State. The competition will begin at 5 p.m.

Marc Long is in his eighth season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming team. It’s his seventh as head coach of the combined program. During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 36 school records have fallen and 74 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Bob Rydze is in his 37th year as diving coach of the men and women’s teams at the University of Iowa. Rydze served as Team Leader for USA Diving at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. During his tenure with the Hawkeyes, Rydze has coached 33 All-Americans, nine Big Ten and one NCAA Champion.

Ground was broken for the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in October 2007. The facility opened in August 2010 and is home for the Hawkeyes. It is located at the corner of Burlington and Madison streets and cost approximately $69 million. The facility includes a 50-meter competition pool, a separate diving well, a leisure pool with lap lanes and 24,000 square feet of fitness space.

Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level and competed at the first NCAA Championship. From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions.

Six student-athletes have been named to the 2011-12 Captains’ Council. Ryan Phelan, Jordan Huff and Kyle Noser will captain the men’s squad, while Daniela Cubelic, Danielle Carty and Haley Gordon will captain the women’s squad. The Captains’ Council was voted on by their peers and coaches.