McNutt Earns Richter-Howard Award as Big Ten's Top Receiver

Nov. 28, 2011

2011-12 UI Bowl Game Ticket Application, v2

IOWA CITY, Iowa – – University of Iowa senior wide receiver Marvin McNutt, Jr. has been named the recipient of the Big Ten’s inaugural Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year Award. The announcement was made by the Big Ten Conference Monday evening as part of the annual show revealing the 2011 all-conference teams.

McNutt is one of eight Hawkeye players named to either the first or second all-Big Ten teams, voted on by the league’s coaches and media. McNutt, along with junior offensive tackle Riley Reiff, earned first team recognition from both the coaches and media. Senior DB Shaun Prater was a first team selection by league coaches. Prater earned first team honors for the second straight year, while McNutt and Reiff each moved to the first team after earning second team honors in 2010.

Sophomore running back Marcus Coker, senior defensive tackle Mike Daniels and senior offensive guard Adam Gettis were named to the second team by league coaches, while senior defensive end Broderick Binns and junior defensive back Micah Hyde were named to the media second team. Daniels and Hyde each earned honorable mention recognition in 2010.

Four Hawkeyes were named honorable mention by both coaches and media, including senior offensive tackle Markus Zusevics, senior punter Eric Guthrie, junior center James Ferentz and sophomore linebacker James Morris. Binns and Hyde were named honorable mention by the coaches, while the media named Daniels, Gettis, Prater and senior LB Tyler Nielsen to its honorable mention list.

The Richter-Howard Receiver Award is named after former Wisconsin player Pat Richter and Michigan’s Desmond Howard. McNutt completed the regular season with 78 receptions for 1,269 yards and 12 touchdowns. He set Iowa single season and career records for receiving yards and touchdown receptions. His yardage total ranks ninth best all-time in the Big Ten for a single season. He led the Big Ten in receiving yards while ranking second in receptions, in both league play and the entire season.

Reiff (left tackle) and Gettis (right guard) each started all 12 games in leading an offensive line that featured Marcus Coker rushing for 1,384 yards, the fourth highest single season total at Iowa. Coker led the league in rushing attempts and ranked second in rushing yards while scoring 15 touchdowns.

Prater started all 12 games in the defensive secondary, recording 46 tackles while ranking among national leaders with four caused fumbles. He had an 89-yard interception return for a touchdown. Hyde shared the team lead with three interceptions and ranked fifth on the squad with 68 tackles.

Binns and Daniels led Iowa’s defensive line throughout the season, each starting all 12 games. Binns recorded 59 tackles, including 12 tackles for loss and five QB sacks, along with leading the team in pass break-ups (eight) and QB pressures (six). Daniels had 62 tackles, including 10.5 tackles for loss and seven QB sacks.

In addition to being named honorable mention by both coaches and media, Guthrie is Iowa’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. Guthrie handled all Iowa punting attempts throughout the season, averaging 40.8 yards on 47 punts. He had five punts over 50 yards, 18 punts inside the 20 and only three touchbacks. Opponents averaged just 5.1 yards on 12 returns.

Iowa finished the 2011 regular season with a 7-5 record overall record and a 4-4 league mark. It’s the 10th time in the last 11 years Iowa has finished in the league’s first division. Iowa is bowl eligible for the 11th straight year and awaits its 10th bowl invitation since 2001.

The University of Iowa Athletics Department is working with the Iowa Farm Bureau on efforts to help consumers understand the challenges and opportunities today’s farmers embrace, and to do so under the banner, “America Needs Farmers,” the initiative undertaken by former UI football coach Hayden Fry during the Farm Crisis of the 1980s and embraced by the Hawkeyes’ current head coach Kirk Ferentz. To learn more, visit