Hawkeyes Face Northwestern

Jan. 18, 2012

The 15th-ranked University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team travels to Evanston, Ill., to take on Northwestern on Saturday. The meet is set to start at 11 a.m. inside the Norris Aquatics Center.

Jarod Schroeder is in his third season at the helm of Northwestern. Schroeder joined Northwestern as an assistant coach prior to the 2008-09 season, before being elevated to NU’s head coaching position Sept. 1, 2009, following the retirement of Bob Groseth.

The Wildcats improved upon their national effort in 2010-11, landing three at the NCAA meet and improving to a 30th-place national finish. It marked the 10th time in the last 11 years that Northwestern has scored points at the NCAA Championships.

Become fans of the official Iowa swimming and diving page by going to http://www.facebook.com/IowaSwimmingandDiving to follow the Hawkeyes on Facebook. Fans can also follow the black and gold on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/IowaHawkeyeSwim.

Ryan Phelan was named Big Ten Conference Swimmer of the Week on Nov. 1. The honor marked Phelan’s first career honor.

The Cedar Rapids, Iowa, native earned the accolade after recording four first place finishes in Iowa’s dual meet victory over Michigan State on Nov. 29. He tallied individual wins in the 50-yard (20.20) and 100-yard free (45.74). He was also a member of the winning 200-yard medley (1:30.60) and 400-yard freestyle relays (3:03.86).

Phelan is the first Iowa men’s swimming student-athlete to claim Big Ten Swimmer of the Week honor since Conor Dwyer on Jan. 27, 2009.

Paul Gordon was selected as the Division I National Swimmer of the Week by collegeswimming.com on Nov. 8.

Gordon, a senior from Sioux Falls, S.D., earned the male swimmer of the week recognition with his performance in the dual meet victory over Minnesota. He posted NCAA “B” qualifying times in the 100-fly (48.30), 100-free (44.07) and 200-free (1:37.44) before anchoring the winning 400-free relay, which set a pool record.

The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team is ranked 15th in the most recent College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) top 25 poll.

The Hawkeyes debuted at No. 10 in the dual meet rankings after downing Minnesota on Nov. 4 at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Pool.

Iowa is one of six Big Ten Conference schools ranked among the top 25, along with Michigan (4), Ohio State (8), Purdue (20), Minnesota (23) and Penn State (23).

The Hawkeyes rank among the top 10 nationally in three events early in the 2011-12 season: – 50 Free, Ryan Phelan (19.77), eighth – 200 Free Relay (1:18.81), ninth – 400 Free Relay (2:54.78), 10th

Iowa finished the 2010-11 season ranked 24th in the final TYP/CSCAA Men’s Division I poll.

Last season’s Big Ten runner-up in the 50 free, Ryan Phelan, beat his pool record in the event with a time of 19.88. Phelan previously held the record (19.90), which he set Nov. 4 at Iowa’s win over Minnesota.

Phelan also set the pool record in the event with a time of 20.27 at Wisconsin’s Natatorium. The previous record was held by former Hawkeye and Big Ten champion, Tom Williams, which was set in 1988.

Duncan Partridge, Ryan Phelan, Jordan Huff and Paul Gordon set the pool record in the 400 free relay with a time of 2:57.31 The quartet set the record Nov. 18 when the Hawkeyes beat Purdue 155-145, but fell to Ohio State, 163-137.

The men’s squad returns all four members of the 400 free relay that earned All-America honors at the 2011 NCAA Championships. Paul Gordon, Jordan Huff, Duncan Partridge and Ryan Phelan placed 15th (2:54.82) in the relay to earn All-America accolades.

Since 2008-09, the men’s swimming and diving team has compiled 31-6 dual meet record. That mark includes a 10-1 record in 2009-10, which is the program’s best record since finishing 13-1 and placing second at the Big Ten.

The Hawkeyes took on No.1 Arizona on Jan. 6 in Tucson, Ariz., during their winter training trip. The Wildcats defeated Iowa, 181-80.

The Hawkeyes will travel to South Bend Ind., to compete at the Shamrock Invitational on Jan. 27-28. The meet will run as prelims/finals.

The University of Iowa hosts the 2012 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships on Feb. 22-25 at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center Pool in Iowa City, Iowa.

Visit the official Championship page at hawkeyesports.com/sports/m-swim for information on tickets, travel, parking, results, schedule of events and more.

Iowa previously hosted the 1934, 1941, 1948, 1953, 1958, 1966 and 1982 Big Ten Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships at the UI Field House.

Iowa will also be host to the 2012 Women’s Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships Feb. 15-18. The same site has not hosted both men and women’s Big Ten meets since 1987 and 1988 when they were held in Indianapolis

Marc Long is in his eighth season as head coach for the University of Iowa swimming team. It’s his seventh as head coach of the combined program. During his tenure as head coach of both programs, 36 school records have fallen and 74 Hawkeyes have provisionally qualified for the NCAA Championships.

Bob Rydze is in his 37th year as diving coach of the men and women’s teams at the University of Iowa. Rydze served as Team Leader for USA Diving at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. During his tenure with the Hawkeyes, Rydze has coached 33 All-Americans, nine Big Ten and one NCAA Champion.

Ground was broken for the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in October 2007. The facility opened in August 2010 and is home for the Hawkeyes. It is located at the corner of Burlington and Madison streets and cost approximately $69 million. The facility includes a 50-meter competition pool, a separate diving well, a leisure pool with lap lanes and 24,000 square feet of fitness space.

Iowa was one of the first schools in the nation to compete on a collegiate level and competed at the first NCAA Championship.From 1937 to 1960, Iowa placed in the NCAA top 10 18 times, crowning nine NCAA and 22 Big Ten champions.

Six student-athletes have been named to the 2011-12 Captains’ Council. Ryan Phelan, Jordan Huff and Kyle Noser will captain the men’s squad, while Daniela Cubelic, Danielle Carty and Haley Gordon will captain the women’s squad. The Captains’ Council was voted on by their peers and coaches.