Hawkeyes Swim Past Northwestern

Jan. 21, 2012

Complete Results

EVANSTON, Ill. — The 15th-ranked University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team faced Northwestern Saturday morning inside the Norris Aquatics Center. The Hawkeyes defeated Northwestern 178-120, improving to a 5-2 overall record and 5-1 mark in the Big Ten.

Iowa kicked off the competition with a first place finish in the 200 medley relay. The quartet of Dustin Rhoads, Duncan Partridge, Byron Butler and Ryan Phelan won the event and posted an NCAA `B’ qualifying time of 1:28.99.

Following the relay, the Hawkeyes took the top-three spots in the 1,000 free. Manuel Belzer won the event with a time of 9:26.02. Patrick Weigand and Chris Freeman placed second and third in the event with times of 9:36.80 and 9:43.42, respectively.

Paul Gordon and Jordan Huff finished first and second in the 200 free. Gordon touched the wall first in 1:38.22, while Huff came in second at 1:39.89. Later on in the competition, Gordon and Huff took the top-two spots again but this time in the 100 free. Gordon won the event with a time of 44.70 and Huff placed second (45.70).

Rhoads recorded an individual first place finish in the 100 back. The Ames, Iowa native swam a time of 48.81, which is just off his collegiate best time of 48.65. Phelan collected another first place finish for the Hawkeyes in the 50 free with his time of 20.03.

The Hawkeyes dominated the 200 back, taking the top-four spots. Butler posted a first place finish (1:48.17), while Rhoads (1:50.57) and Grant Betulius (1:51.85) finished second and third. Donny Warren rounded out the top-four at 1:52.11.

Butler posted another individual first place finish on the day. He swam a time of 49.53 to win the 100 fly. Tyler Lentz finished second in the 200 IM with a time of 1:53.10 to conclude the individual events.

Hawkeye diver Arsen Sarkisian recorded a personal best score on the one-meter springboard. Sarkisian finished second on the board with a score of 276.35. Osvel Molina won the three-meter springboard and earned a personal best score of 337.85.

Iowa concluded the competition with a victory in the 400 free relay. The squad of Phelan, Gordon, Huff and Partridge posted the winning time of 3:00.66, which is a NCAA `B’ qualifying time.

The Hawkeyes return to action Jan. 27-28 when they travel to South Bend, Ind., to compete at the Shamrock Invitational. The meet will be run as a championship style meet with prelims and finals.