Hawkeyes Lead Shamrock Invitational

Jan. 27, 2012

Session 1 Results

SOUTH BEND, Ind. —The 14th-ranked University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team kicked off the first session of the Shamrock Invitational at the Rolfs Aquatics Center. Friday marked the first of three sessions in the championship-format meet. After one session of competition, the Hawkeyes lead Notre Dame 72-38.

The squad of Ryan Phelan, Paul Gordon, Jordan Huff and Brian Donatelli opened the first session of the invitational with a victory in the 200-free relay. The team posted a time of 1:20.89. Iowa’s `B’ squad placed third in a time of 1:24.63.

Iowa’s team leader in the 500 free, Manuel Belzer won the event in a time of 4:25.98. Patrick Weigand touched the wall third at 4:33.10, while Chris Freeman finished fifth (4:35.45).

Tyler Lentz leads the team in the 200 IM and recorded a first place finish in the event with a time of 1:50.73. Kyle Noser placed fifth in the event in a time of 1:51.73.

Following the 200 IM, the Hawkeyes dominated the 50 free, taking the top-three spots. Phelan touched the wall first at 20.08. Gordon posted a collegiate best time of 20.45 for a second place finish, while Huff placed third (20.77).

Hawkeye Diver Osvel Molina claimed a first place finish on the one-meter springboard with a score of 311.40. Arsen Sarkisian landed a fifth place finish with a score of 272.85.

The Hawkeyes concluded the first session of the Shamrock Invitational with first and second place finishes in the 400-medley relay. The quartet of Grant Betulius, Korey Schneider, Byron Butler and Gordon won the event in a time of 3:18.26. Iowa’s `B’ relay came in second at 3:19.64.

Iowa returns tomorrow for the final two sessions of the invitational. The morning session begins at 9 a.m. (CT) with the evening session beginning at 4 p.m. (CT).

For live results click