Kampman Earns Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award

Jan. 31, 2012

DES MOINES, Iowa – Aaron Kampman, an Iowa native and All-Pro defensive end and linebacker for the Jacksonville Jaguars, is the 2012 Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award recipient.

The Ray Awards are presented by Character Counts In Iowa and reflect former Gov. Robert D. Ray’s lifelong commitment to civility and character development.

The award is presented each spring to individuals who consistently demonstrate good character as a visible role model. Past recipients include Dallas Clark, Shawn Johnson, Norman Borlaug, and Coach Ed Thomas (posthumously).

“I am humbled to be receiving the Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award, and I am honored that this recognition will be taking place in my home state of Iowa,” said Kampman. “As a husband, father, son, brother, friend, and teammate, I strive to emulate what I have witnessed in the great men of noble character from my own life – namely my father. It will be my pleasure to accept the award.”

“Aaron demonstrates good character on and off of the field. He’s admired not only for his athletic ability, but for his dedication to doing what is right,” said Gov. Ray, the founder and board chairman of Character Counts In Iowa. “We look forward to honoring him.”

Kampman will accept the Ray Award on April 20, 2012 at Character Counts In Iowa’s All-Star Evening in West Des Moines.

Kampman was a four-year letterman for the Hawkeyes from 1998-2001, compiling 342 career tackles and 18 sacks. With 96 total tackles his senior year, Kampman earned first team all-Big Ten honors from league media and collegefootballnew.com. He was named a permanent team captain on defense and earned academic all-Big Ten honors three-consecutive years.

Kampman was a first team Academic All-American as a junior and senior. Additionally, he received the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement award and the Hayden Fry, “Extra Heartbeat” award for his efforts on and off the field.