Brant Named Finalist for Byron Nelson Award

April 16, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior Chris Brant is a finalist for the 2012 Byron Nelson Award, presented by Cleveland Golf/Srixon, in cooperation with the Four Seasons Resort and Club Las Colinas and the Salesmanship Club of Dallas. Brant is one of five NCAA Division I men’s golfers named a finalist for the prestigious award.

Candidates for the Byron Nelson Award must be a graduating senior, and the selection committee considers equally a nominee’s entire collegiate academic and golf career, and his character and integrity while in college. Particular consideration will be given to a nominee’s good citizenship, as portrayed by Mr. Nelson over the course of his life and golf career.

Brant has earned two individual titles in his career, claiming first place at the Golden Gopher Invitational as a senior and the Golfweek Conference Challenge as a junior. He was a PING honorable mention All-American and second team All-Big Ten pick in 2011. He was also named to the Big Ten Championships All-Tournament team after a runner-up finish at the conference tournament as a junior. Following his stellar junior season, Brant was named Iowa’s recipient of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

The Edwardsville, Ill., native owns the lowest 54-hole total in school history (206), the second (64) and fifth (67) best 18-hole scores at Iowa, the fifth-lowest 72-hole total (288) and the sixth-best 36-hole score (139).

Off the course, Brant was named a Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-American Scholar as a junior and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection.

Brant also volunteers, both in his hometown of Edwardsville and the Iowa City area. Brant has volunteered at the Metro East Food Pantry in St. Louis and at a local church in Edwardsville over the summer. He also takes part in clothing drives in Iowa City.

Dylan Frittelli (Texas), Joakim Mikkelsen (Baylor), James White (Georgia Tech) and Peter Williamson (Dartmouth) are also finalists. The recipient of the Byron Nelson Award will be named April 19.