Gordon Earns 3rd MVP Award

April 16, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa men’s swimming and diving team celebrated the end of the season at the team’s awards banquet on Saturday, April 14. Swimmers, divers, alumni, parents and supporters recognized the 2011-12 team at the Coralville Marriot.

Senior Paul Gordon received the Armbruster/ Patton MVP award for the third straight season. Gordon set a school record in the 100 free (43.22) at the 2012 Big Ten Championships and anchored the 200 (1:17.61) and 400-free (2:52.53) Big Ten Champion relays. Gordon was a member of three relays that earned honorable mention All-America recognition at the 2012 NCAA Championships. He also earned the Wally Ris Memorial Award for the second straight season for being the fastest 100 freestyler on the squad.

Sophomore Osvel Molina was presented the “Lobbey” Lobdell men’s diving MVP for the second straight season. He led the team in the one-meter (354.10), and three-meter (340.72) and platform (354.15) events. His best score in the one-meter (354.10) ranks fourth on Iowa’s all-time top performers list.

Senior Ryan Phelan took home the Jim Marshall Award, which is annually presented to the senior who has contributed the best of his athletic ability. Phelan set the school record in the 50 free with a time of 19.52. He was a member of the 200 (1:17.61) and 400-free (2:52.53) Big Ten Champion relays, which set school records. Additionally, he is a member of the school record-setting 200-medley relay. Phelan was also a member of all three relays that claimed honorable mention All-America honors at the NCAA’s. His best time in the 100 free (43.31) ranks second in school history.

Junior Jordan Huff collected two awards, earning the Irving B. Weber Award, which is given to an athlete for their outstanding team leadership, and the Strength and Conditioning Award. Huff was a member of the school recording setting and Big Ten Champion 400-free relay (2:52.53). He was also a member of all three honorable mention All-America NCAA relays. His best times in the 100-free (44.04) and 200-free (1:35.87) rank 10th and fourth, respectively in school history.

The 2012-13 captains were also announced at banquet. Huff, Byron Butler, Kyle Noser and Michael Vinyard were named leaders of next year’s Hawkeye squad.

2011-12 Men’s Swimming and Diving Awards
Armbruster/Patton MVP Award: Paul Gordon
“Lobby” Lobdell Award: Osvel Molina
Irving B. Weber Award: Jordan Huff
Strength and Conditioning Award: Jordan Huff
Jim Marshall Award: Ryan Phelan
Wally Ris Memorial Award: Paul Gordon