Awards Handed Out at Banquet

April 19, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa women’s basketball team celebrated another successful season last weekend at its annual team banquet. Numerous individuals were honored while the team looked back on its 19-12 overall record and second place finish in the Big Ten.

The Hawkeyes advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth consecutive season and the 2011-12 campaign marked the ninth time in 12 seasons under Head Coach Lisa Bluder that Iowa has been selected for the NCAA Tournament. Iowa’s 11 conference wins are the most during a 16-game conference schedule since 2001-02, and the fourth most in school history.

Bluder handed out three team awards Friday night. Senior Kelly Krei was named the Best Defensive Player, junior Morgan Johnson was named the Most Improved Player and senior Kamille Wahlin was given the Dr. Christine Grant Leadership Award.

Statistical awards were also given to three student-athletes. Freshman Samantha Logic earned the team’s Leading Rebounder (7.1) and Leading Assist awards (4.3). Jaime Printy took home the Leading Free Throw Percentage award (88.8) and Johnson received the Leading Field Goal Percentage award (54.9). Johnson finished the season ranked seventh in the NCAA in field goal percentage

Iowa’s All-Big Ten honorees were also recognized; Johnson (second team), Printy and Wahlin (third team) and Logic (Freshman team).

Krei, Johnson, Wahlin, Printy, Trisha Nesbitt, Kalli Hansen, Hannah Draxten and Megan Considine were also honored as Academic All-Big Ten selections. Iowa’s eight Academic All-Big Ten picks were the most for any Big Ten women’s basketball team and the most in Iowa school history.

Printy also earned Capital One Academic All-District honors during the season.