Iowa to Feature Throwback Uniforms for First Home Game

April 20, 2012

IOWA CITY, IOWA – – The University of Iowa football team will be outfitted in 1921-22 throwback uniforms when the Hawkeyes host Iowa State in the annual Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Trophy game Saturday, Sept. 8 in Kinnick Stadium.

A throwback jersey (#21) and helmet will be auctioned Friday evening in Des Moines at the Character Counts in Iowa banquet and auction. Former Hawkeye Aaron Kampman, an NFL all-pro who currently plays for Jacksonville, will be presented with the 2012 Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award at the event.

The Cy-Hawk contest in September will mark Iowa’s third game in throwback uniforms. The Hawkeyes wore uniforms modeled after the 1958 Iowa squad when they defeated Ball State 45-0 on Sept. 25, 2010. Iowa wore uniforms honoring the 1939 Ironmen during its 39-7 win over Kent State on Sept. 4, 2004.

Iowa posted a perfect 7-0 record in both 1921 and 1922 under Coach Howard Jones, including winning all five Big Ten Conference games each season. Iowa scored over 40 points three times in 1921, including 41 points in consecutive wins over Minnesota and Indiana in November. The Iowa defense allowed just 36 points on the season, posting three defensive shutouts (Illinois scored two points).

In 1922 the Hawkeyes allowed just 33 points, posting three shutouts, while winning a second straight Big Ten title. Along with the five conference wins in 1921, Iowa also posted a 10-7 home victory over Notre Dame. The two undefeated seasons were part of an overall 20-game winning streak that included the final three games of 1920 until the fourth game of the 1923 season. No opponent scored more than 14 points in 25 consecutive games between 1920-23.

Quarterback Aubrey Devine, defensive back Gordon Locke and end Lester Belding earned consensus All-America honors during their playing careers. Devine, Locke and lineman Fred “Duke” Slater were named to Iowa’s All-Time team in 1989, while Belding was named Special Mention on defense.

Those earning All-Big Ten first team honors in the two seasons included Slater, Devine, Locke, Belding, linemen John Heldt, Chester Meade, Paul Minick and George Thompson, and end Max Kadesky. There were no second team honors at the time.

Fans of the Iowa Hawkeyes who were general public and/or UI faculty/staff season ticket holders a year ago are reminded that the priority deadline to order their 2012 season tickets is Friday, April 27. Fans should note that away game ticket orders must also be submitted by April 27, which is an earlier deadline than in past years.

Fans of the Hawkeyes who did not purchase general public and/or UI faculty/staff seasons tickets a year ago, but are interested in purchasing tickets for the 2012 season, should note that the UI Athletics Ticket Office is currently accepting requests for new season ticket holders and that the supply of season tickets available for purchase is limited. Requests must be made online at and should be submitted by April 27.

The UI Athletics Ticket Office is currently accepting orders for 2012 UI student season tickets from current UI students. Students must place their order online and can do so at UI students have the option to purchase either a six or seven game package for the upcoming football season, as the home contest with Nebraska falls on a UI holiday weekend (Friday, Nov. 23). Students ordering their 2012 UI football season tickets will also have the opportunity to order their 2012-13 men’s basketball season ticket this spring.

Current UI students are encouraged to place their 2012 UI football and 2012-13 UI men’s basketball season ticket orders by Friday, May 11. UI students must also order tickets for the Sept. 1 football game vs. Northern Illinois, at Chicago’s Soldier Field, by Friday, April 27.

Questions concerning the purchase of general public, UI faculty/staff and UI student seasons tickets by current UI students should be directed to the UI Athletics Ticket Office. The office is open weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. The office telephone number is 1-800-IA-HAWKS.

Iowa opens the 2012 football season Sept. 1, facing Northern Illinois at Soldier Field in Chicago. The Hawkeyes then host consecutive home games against Iowa State, Northern Iowa, Central Michigan and Minnesota.

2012 Throwback Game
Sept. 8 vs. Iowa State

Uniform Era
1921-1922 Head Coach: Howard Jones Record: 7-0 overall, 5-0 in Big Ten Conference in both 1921 and 1922
Iowa won Big Ten titles both seasons

Old gold, matching gold on jersey and pants. Gray facemasks Front bumper will say IOWA. Back neckline will say ’21-22 Big Ten Champs

Black body, old gold semicircle under arms, white numbers front and back, no player name

Old gold, matching old gold on jersey

Black shoe, black laces, silver Nike swoosh

High game sock, all black

The University of Iowa Athletics Department is working with the Iowa Farm Bureau on efforts to help consumers understand the challenges and opportunities today’s farmers embrace, and to do so under the banner, “America Needs Farmers,” the initiative undertaken by former UI football coach Hayden Fry during the Farm Crisis of the 1980s and embraced by the Hawkeyes’ current head coach Kirk Ferentz. To learn more, visit