8 Hawkeyes Earn All-America Honors

June 14, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Seniors Troy Doris and Erik Sowinski led a list of eight University of Iowa track and field student-athletes named USTFCCCA All-Americans following the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Championships. The announcement was made Tuesday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Sowinski and Doris were both named first team All-Americans. First team USTFCCCA All-America accolades are awarded to those who earn any portion of a team point at the national championships, or reach an eight-entrant final.

Sowinski placed second in the 800 meters with a school record time of 1:45.90 to become the first Hawkeye since Bashir Yamini (1996-99) to earn All-America honors three straight years. Doris placed fifth in the triple jump for the second straight season to earn first team honors. The Bolingbrook, Ill., native was named to the All-America first team for the fourth time in his two-year Hawkeye career (2011 indoor/outdoor, 2012 indoor/outdoor).

All-American Erik Sowinski

Junior Justin Austin, junior Matt Byers, sophomore Ashley Liverpool and senior McKenzie Melander were named second team All-Americans, an honor bestowed to any athlete who places 9-16 at the NCAA Championships.

Byers recorded a season best toss of 237-6 (72.30m) to place 10th in the javelin while Austin and Liverpool finished 13th in their respective races. Austin clocked a 20.70 in the 200 meters while Liverpool clocked a 52.81 in the 400 meters. Melander, the 2012 Big Ten 5,000 meter champion, finished 14th on the national stage with a time of 16:44.78.

Senior Matt Banse and junior Ethan Holmes were named All-America honorable mentions. Holmes earned a pair of honors following a 19th place finish in the 110-meter hurdles and an 18th place finish in the 400-meter hurdles. Banse placed 20th in the hammer with a toss of 1977-11 (60.33m).

Troy Doris, triple jump
Erik Sowinski, 800 meters

Justin Austin, 200 meters
Matt Byers, javelin
Ashely Liverpool, 400 meters
McKenzie Melander, 5,000 meters

Matt Banse, hammer
Ethan Holmes, 110-meter hurdles, 400-meter hurdles