Vandenberg Named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

July 18, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa senior quarterback James Vandenberg has been named to the 2012 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced. The list features 34 of the nation’s top signal-callers.

The Davey O’Brien Award annually recognizes the top quarterback in college football. Former Hawkeyes Chuck Long (1985) and Brad Banks (2002) won the award and Ricky Stanzi was named a semifinalist in 2010. Iowa is one of eight schools nationally to have had two or more individuals capture the award.

Vandenberg, a native of Keokuk, Iowa, started all 13 games under center for the Hawkeyes last year. He completed 237-of-404 pass attempts for 3,022 yards and 25 touchdowns. Only 17 returning players in the FBS threw for more yards than Vandenberg. He ranked third in the Big Ten in passing yards per game (232.5), fourth in total offense (237.2) and fifth in pass efficiency (138.5). Vandenberg (6-foot-3, 212) was named to the Capital One/CoSIDA District Six Academic All-America team and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree. He is also on the 2012 preseason Maxwell Award and CFPA Quarterback Trophy watch lists and was ranked as the No. 2 quarterback in the Big Ten by

The Davey O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 6. The 36th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Iowa opens its season Sept. 1 against Northern Illinois at Soldier Field in Chicago. Kickoff is 2:30 p.m., CT (ESPNU).

Iowa Hawkeyes on Watch Lists

Keenan Davis, Sr., WR
Biletnikoff Award
CFPA Wide Receiver Trophy

James Ferentz, Sr., OL
Outland Trophy
Rimington Trophy

C.J. Fiedorowicz, Jr., TE
John Mackey Award
CFPA Tight End Trophy

Micah Hyde, Sr., DB
Bednarik Award
Bronko Nagurski Award
CFPA Defensive Back Trophy

Mike Meyer, Jr., PK
Lou Groza Award
CFPA Special Teams Trophy
CFPA Placekicker Trophy

Tanner Miller, Jr., DB
CFPA Defensive Back Trophy

James Morris, Jr., LB
Bednarik Award
Butkus Award
Rotary Lombardi Award

James Vandenberg, Sr., QB
Maxwell Award
Davey O’Brien Award
CFPA Quarterback Trophy