Women's Basketball Announces Team Captains

Aug. 22, 2012

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Head Coach Lisa Bluder has announced that seniors Jaime Printy, Morgan Johnson and Trisha Nesbitt have been named team captains for the 2012-13 season.

“I think our team did an excellent job identifying team captains for the upcoming season,” Bluder said. “Jaime, Morgan and Trisha are exceptional leaders and will serve as terrific role models for our young players. They are perfect examples of what a true student-athlete should be within our program.”

Printy was named an honorable mention All-American as a sophomore and is a three-time All-Big Ten pick. She was also named Captial One Academic All-District last season and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten pick. Printy led the team in scoring (16.9), steals (2.0) and free throw percentage (88.8) last season, before tearing her ACL near the end of the season.

Johnson earned Capital One Academic All-District honors as a sophomore and was named Academic All-Big Ten as a sophomore and junior. Last season, Johnson earned second team All-Big Ten honors. Johnson led the Big Ten and ranked seventh in the NCAA in field goal percentage (54.9) last season. She also ranked second in the league and 26th in the country in blocks per game (2.3).

Nesbitt, who has battled injuries throughout her career, has played in 65 career games. She also excels in the classroom, with two Academic All-Big Ten awards. As a freshman, Nesbitt came off the bench to score 10 points to help lead Iowa to a Big Ten Tournament semifinal win over Michigan State.