2012-13 Big Ten Women's Basketball Schedule Released

Aug. 31, 2012

2012-13 Iowa Women’s Basketball Schedule

Complete Big Ten Schedule

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The Big Ten Conference announced its 2012-13 women’s basketball schedule Friday. The University of Iowa women’s basketball team will play 16 conference games, including eight inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena.

Iowa’s schedule includes three Sunday home games, four Thursday home contests and one Monday matchup. The Hawkeyes open conference play Thursday, Jan. 3 against rival Ohio State.

Iowa’s complete schedule, along with the composite Big Ten schedule, can be found at the top of the page. More start times and television information will be released at a later date.

“Our conference schedule is demanding every year and this season is no exception,” head coach Lisa Bluder said. “The Big Ten is one of the toughest conferences in women’s basketball, so we will see quality opponents every night we step on the court. We have the opportunity to play against great teams in some very tough environments. We are also challenging our team with a difficult nonconference schedule, facing numerous teams that were in postseason play a year ago.”

? Iowa will play four of its first six conference games at home. Three of its next four games will be on the road.

? Three of Iowa’s final four regular season games will be on the road. Iowa’s final home game is Feb. 28 (Indiana). Iowa closes the regular season on the road March 3 (at Northwestern).

? Iowa’s weekend “bye” is Jan. 13, while its weekday “bye” is the week of Feb. 20-21.

? Iowa’s one-plays include Indiana, Ohio State and Penn State (home) and Michigan State, Minnesota and Illinois (away). The Hawkeyes play Michigan, Wisconsin, Purdue, Northwestern and Nebraska twice.

? The Big Ten features three new head coaches in 2012-13; Illinois (Matt Bollant), Indiana (Curt Miller) and Michigan (Kim Barnes Arico).

? The Big Ten sent a record seven teams to the NCAA Tournament in 2012 (Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, Penn State and Purdue). Minnesota won the Women’s Basketball Invitational championship.

? The Big Ten Tournament will be held March 7-10 at Sears Centre in Hoffman Estates, Ill.