Inaugural All-Star Classic Selects Three Hawkeyes

Jan. 9, 2013

IOWA CITY, Iowa — Three senior members of the University of Iowa football program have been invited to compete in the inaugural Raycom College Football All-Star Classic. Quarterback James Vandenberg, offensive lineman Matt Tobin and defensive back Greg Castillo will participate in the all-star contest that will be held at the Crampton Bowl in Montgomery, Ala. on Saturday, Jan. 19. Game time is 2 p.m. (CT), and the game will be televised by CBS Sports Network.

Vandenberg (6-foot-3, 212 pounds) started every game over the past two seasons and was named a permanent team captain in 2012. The Keokuk, Iowa, native ranks among Iowa’s top-seven quarterbacks in career completions (507), attempts (888), passing yards (5,786), passing touchdowns (35) and total offense (5,853). He was named to the Capital One District VI Academic All-America team for the second straight year in 2012 and earned Academic All-Big Ten honors four straight years.

Tobin (6-6, 290) played both left guard and left tackle this past season. He started all 12 games and had 22 career starts. The native of Worthington, Iowa, earned honorable mention All-Big Ten recognition from league coaches this season and was presented the Brett Greenwood Award at the post-season football awards banquet.

Castillo (5-11, 187), a native of Mount Laurel, N.J., earned his fourth letter while starting three games in 2012. He shared the team lead with two interceptions and recorded 26 tackles. Castillo’s interception of a tipped pass at Michigan State clinched Iowa’s double-overtime win, and he also had an interception in Iowa’s home victory over Minnesota.

In addition, three Hawkeyes will compete in the East West Shrine Game, also being played Jan. 19. Center James Ferentz, defensive back Micah Hyde and wide receiver Keenan Davis will participate in that event at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. (3 p.m. (CT), NFL Network).