Hawkeyes Capture 3 Titles on Day 1

April 12, 2013

Complete Results

MACOMB, Ill. – The University of Iowa track and field team captured three titles in the first day of competition at the Lee Calhoun Invitational on Friday. Both the Hawkeye men (49 points) and women (47 points) are in second-place.

The Hawkeye men swept the top three spots in the long jump. Senior Josh Larney took the title with a leap of 23-2 ¾ (7.08m). Freshman Klyvens Delaunay recorded a personal-best jump of 22-11 (6.98m) to finish second, while freshman Kerry Dean Jr. finished third (22-6 ¼ (6.86m).

Junior Jack Eckert took the men’s javelin title. Eckert recorded a toss of 182-5 (55.60m).

Gabe Hull earned a first-place finish in the men’s discus. The sophomore recorded a personal-best toss of 196-2 (59.80m). That mark ranks third all-time at Iowa. Junior Andrew Carman finished seventh in the event with a toss of 155-9 (47.47m), while freshman sophomore Sam Joens finished 15th (136-10; 41.70m).

Sophomore Sarah Ryan and junior Zinnia Miller finished second and third, respectively, in the women’s long jump. Ryan recorded a personal-best leap of 18-11 ¾ (5.78m), while Miller recorded a mark of 18-3 (5.56m).

Tayo Oladele-Ajose earned a second-place finish in the women’s high jump. The freshman cleared a height of 5-3 (1.60m).

Senior Majesty Tutson grabbed a second-place finish in the women’s discus. Tutson recorded a toss of 166-2 (50.64m). Freshman Dakotah Goodell (145-9; 44.43m), and juniors Courtney Fritz (145-7; 44.37m) and Amanda Stahle (145-2; 44.25m) finished fifth, sixth and seventh, respectively.

Brandon Oest cleared a high jump mark of 6-4 ¾ (1.95m). The senior’s mark was good enough for an eighth-place finish.

The Lee Calhoun Invitational resumes Saturday at 11 a.m.